BG808 not showing computer boot

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by tryingtimes, Jan 6, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +531
    I guess this could be a graphics card problem but just in case it isn't I thought I'd post here.

    My BG808 says 'no signal' while the computer is booting and doesn't let me see the bios or safe mode options. The only time it shows a picture is when the desktop appears! (and then changes memory block once powerstrip kicks in)

    I was going to have a rummage in the bios but even though i'm sure I'm in there it doesn't display anything.

    Any ideas?
    Regards
    Alex
     
  2. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    I'm fairly sure this is a +ve sync issue which the 808 can't handle (808s does)

    I take it you have still got the Extron grey box plugged in cos I haven't made your cable up yet. but this should automatiocally sort out -ve an +ve sync.

    Try pulling the lead from vertical output of the extron box. If that doesn't work try both hand v leads off and select input 4 on your projector (sync on green).

    After that you'll need a monitor.
     
  3. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +531
    Cheers - I'll give that a try tonight.
    I was thinking that this might have started after your last visit and that would make sense as one of the sync cables was definitely out before.

    I shall report back (I'm going to have to do a full format and reinstall over the next couple of evenings)

    I have a monitor just in case!

    Cheers
    Alex
     
  4. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +531
    Yep - sorted it, thanks
    I can now see my boot and bios in all their resplendent ugliness!
     
  5. Rob.Screene

    Rob.Screene
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berks, England
    Ratings:
    +148
    Alex,
    Well now you can turn the contrast way down (in that memory block), so when the boot text appears, you'll hardly see it!

    I only turn the contrast back-up if I you need to, say to do a ghost disk image backup.

    regards,
    Rob.
     
  6. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +531
    Good tip Rob - I'll give that a go, once I've stopped fiddling!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice