BF 2 help please

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by bentleg, Nov 2, 2005.

  1. bentleg

    bentleg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Notts
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi

    I brought battlefield 2 the other day and installed it on my machine, only to realise that my graphics card was not supported. So I brought a Radeon X800 pro from a friend. But things are still very touchy some times the game loads to the options screen, others it just locks up, I have tried different game settings from the lowest to the kind of performance id expect to get from the x800 with no avail.
    I’ve not done too much with the cards settings and have restored back to default.
    Are there any recommended settings for the card? And game or something that I’m not doing.??
    If it helps here is a list of my set up

    Processor
    3.00 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4
    16 kilobyte primary memory cache
    1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache.

    Motherboard
    Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC.
    Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
    BIOS: American Megatrends Inc

    Ram
    512

    Display
    RADEON X800 Series [Display adapter]
    LGE 17” set at 1024 / 768 @ 85 hertz is that helps

    Multimedia
    SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio

    “All info gathered from Belarc advisor”

    Cheers
     
  2. Darko

    Darko
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Caterham on the hill Surrey
    Ratings:
    +228
    could be your ram bud. might need another stick. also check you have the most uptodate drivers for your g-card.

    Darko
     
  3. ELV

    ELV
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2001
    Messages:
    690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Up in the proper north
    Ratings:
    +11
    Also check your power supply is up to the job,theres all sorts of issues with the game, do the normal defrag etc, check out tweak-guide.com and do all the changes there,mine had a slight stutter and after doing all the tweaks ran smoooooth as silk,1gb min though on the ram
     
  4. bentleg

    bentleg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Notts
    Ratings:
    +6
    I got the latest drivers when I installed it I’m getting another 512 stick tonight so hopefully that will sort it out.
    ELV I think its a 400w psu ive got, ill give her a defrag this afternoon hopefully it will be done when I get home tonight. Also will check out the link.
    Thanks guys will keep you posted :)
     
  5. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    Same as what everyone said. Memory. This game needs minimum 1gig, 2gb if possible. Make sure you use the latest drivers for everything. Make sure you patch the game up to 1.3 as the latest patch changed the game fundamentally.

    Also make sure to run a program like "Driver Cleaner" to get rid of any old files belonging to your previous card.

    Defrag HDD and that should do it.
     
  6. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    24,719
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +12,210
    BF2 is a funny old game. Some people can run it well and for others it crashes like a bastard. But looking at your specs, and to echo what AML said, 512mb is not enough. 1GB is ok, but for BF2 to run properly you really need 2GB.
     
  7. bentleg

    bentleg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Notts
    Ratings:
    +6
    Holy sh*t how good is this game.
    Thank you everyone for your advice I’m now running smoothly on full settings.
    Give me a few hours practice n ill be joining you all for a group ass kicking.
     
  8. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    Check this site out. Its BF2's best friend!!
    http://bf2s.com/

    Type in your name (the one you use in the game) and you can pick up your stats and progress and compare it to anyone else playing.

    You can also find out how to get certain things in the game like unlocks, badges, medals and other such stuff.
     
  9. bentleg

    bentleg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Notts
    Ratings:
    +6
    thank you
     
  10. gav1810

    gav1810
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +43

Share This Page

Loading...