Beware Video Streaming Restrictions

Discussion in 'ISPs & The Internet' started by spinaltap, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. spinaltap

    spinaltap
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,669
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1,079
    I've been with o2 broadband/mobile for over two years, and was attracted by the current 12 months half-price broadband offer if taking-on their home-phone package.

    I was on the phone to o2 to arrange the change-over from BT (current phone provider), when the o2 agent advised that the 'all rounder' broadband package that I was about to commit to is restricted to 8Gb video streaming. The current equivalent to my existing all rounder package does not have such video streaming restrictions.

    Only by paying extra for 'the works' broadband package are you assured that there is no restriction for video streaming.

    If like me you are contemplating buying into YouView when it eventually emerges (or Netflix) then such video streaming restrictions by o2 may be a deal-breaker.

    I'm staying with my current phone provider until I find a better deal - and for that matter, a more attractive broadband offer.
     
  2. accyuklad

    accyuklad
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,060
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    lancashire
    Ratings:
    +280
    you might aswell go for be broadband they unlimited or look at sky package thats if its llu enabled on your exchange
     
  3. spinaltap

    spinaltap
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,669
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1,079
    I originally moved from BE to o2 because my download speed maxed-out at 14Gb, so paying the extra for BE was uneconomical. Nothing has changed since then.
     
  4. accyuklad

    accyuklad
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,060
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    lancashire
    Ratings:
    +280
    is sky not enabled on your exchange

    ye but if your line can only handle 14meg then you not going to get more by changing isp
     
  5. PowerLee

    PowerLee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    I get the feeling he doesnt really want to change ISP as he will be on one of the excellent O2 legacy broadband packages but just wanted his home phone service moved to O2.
     
  6. accyuklad

    accyuklad
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,060
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    lancashire
    Ratings:
    +280
    im on old legacy and i wouldnt even want mine upgrading
     
  7. PowerLee

    PowerLee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    Im the same, i've got O2 legacy broadband & also O2 homephone :cool:
     
  8. silent ninja

    silent ninja
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,027
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +825
    I've thought about upgrading as I only get 7mbs maximum on my line. I'm 1 mile from the exchange. A little research reveals the new O2 packages have traffic shaping, the legacy packages don't! Be do unlimited packages but I only pay £9.50 atm, nobody can compete with that which is rather odd-- in 2 years I expected prices to come down and speeds to go up with FEWER restrictions.

    I'm still considering changing my router to boost the signal in my house and maybe even giving a little more Internet speed. I can stream to two tellies in HD via Netflix so for now it's OK. Fibre optic is still bloody pricey! But I'm really interested in that.

    /end ramblings
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2012

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice