Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Better PQ - Sky or Freeview

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by goon525, Jul 9, 2005.

  1. goon525

    goon525
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Now I've gone ahead and ordered my Panny TH42PV500 - quick question while I wait for it to arrive, for those who already have one (or similar), and subscribe to Sky. On the standard channels - BBC1, ITV etc, which do you think gives the better picture and sound, Sky or Freeview?

    Goon525
     
  2. phillfyspoon

    phillfyspoon
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    sky for sure but i think ntl out performs sky for pq.
     
  3. av2diefor

    av2diefor
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Depends on location for signal, generally freeview takes some beating for pq,its amazing on my panny.
     
  4. goon525

    goon525
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Signal's good here in Guildford (except C5). I've not used Freeview before but I don't expect signal problems.
    I've also had ntl in the past, and wouldn't say it was better than Sky.
     
  5. simon33

    simon33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd definetly choose Freeview over Sky.
     
  6. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +477
    just did a check and apparently we cant get freeview over in cranleigh
     
  7. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +137
    apparantly we cant get it on my post code. got a freeview box anyway and signal strength is good
     
  8. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +477
    really?..maybe its worth a go..its only a few quid anyway
     
  9. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    im in shamley green and i used to have it on a really dirt cheap box with the aerial a newish aerial but not sure if its designed for freeview. It worked, some channels quite blocky eg music channels. itv teletext didnt work but i wouldnt be surprised if this was all the box as i stole it off a mate!

    it was really small, like a semi circle about 5 inches diameter.

    In conclusion to my slightly cryptic (slightly intoxicated) post, it worked but not perfectly!
     
  10. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    i was talking about the freeview box as well before anyone reads too much in to that!
     
  11. Artie Fufkin

    Artie Fufkin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,607
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Ratings:
    +181
    Freeview either works or it doesn't. The blockiness is caused by either a poor [low bitrate] output signal which is apparent on "minor" channels, or by ocassional interference such as a hoover or such like. If you discount the electrical interference [hoover] then a freeview signal will not alter like analogue does. You either get a signal the same as everyone else, or you get a red dot on the screen meaning no signal recieved.
     
  12. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    The blockiness is poor signal. You might well be able to cure it with a new aerial. I had to have a new one as my Ch5 mux used to do this in the evenings, along with clicking and stuttering sound.
     
  13. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,823
    ....and back to the original question: assuming you get glitch-free reception, then I believe, for the quoted channels, there is less digtal compression/more bandwidth/less artefacts/better picture on Freeview than on $ky.
     
  14. av2diefor

    av2diefor
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Absolutely.

    Another point while sky varies in pq on different channels, freeview stays consistent accross the board.

    On the sound issue sky has it beat hands down, but only if you have an amp and make use of the 5.1 dd signal on a + box :)
     
  15. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    And how many programs are broadcast in 5.1?
     
  16. av2diefor

    av2diefor
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Enough to edge it!
     
  17. carlton

    carlton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep I gave up my sky before i got my pv500 so i use freeview(signal strength 9).Its generally very good for instance both golf and formula 1 today look so sweet i sure they hd.Shows from the seventies and that type can look the worse on the pv500 though and i tend to not watch them.Anything else is pretty good such as the bbc's,hits,tmf,news channels,discovery and history all nice.
    So to sum up i wouldnt touch sky now till they release the hd box.
     
  18. goon525

    goon525
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks everyone. It lookos like Freeview will have the edge. I'm not worried about 5.1 sound though I do use a high-end two channel system. But I won't be cancelling my $ky sub - watch too much sport for that!

    Goon 525
     
  19. Hotshot147

    Hotshot147
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    My sky picture is very good with the pv500. :thumbsup:
     
  20. stroppygoblin

    stroppygoblin
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Most of Sky Movies 1 + 2 are broadcast in 5.1
     
  21. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    That must be in the evenings, the stuff in the daytime I find it hard to get a 5.1 movie to show the client.
     
  22. waran

    waran
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I thought that with a digital signal you either got a picture or not. I did not think that a better antenna would improve the picture quality, but then I could be wrong.
     
  23. carlton

    carlton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If u have a poor signal u can loose information,resulting in blockiness.If u lose a few 1's and 0's hitting your aerial its not going to be a happy picture :(
     
  24. waran

    waran
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I had better go and get a better arial then as I may be losing a few 1's and 0's.
     
  25. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Sounds like you are, if you have a spot of picture breakup.
     
  26. waran

    waran
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    not picture break up, but a lack of sharpness
     
  27. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Lack of sharpness?
    Well my FV pictures are all fine everything is RGB and all 3 are decent quality
     
  28. Artie Fufkin

    Artie Fufkin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,607
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Ratings:
    +181
    Well, that's what I thought too [and it's borne out of my experience], but others here [with more experience] seem to disagree and I can accept that.

    However, I can't see how a general lack of sharpness woud be caused by a poor signal/arial.
     
  29. waran

    waran
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I must have realy drunk on Sunday or my PV500 is improving with use, because I was watching my FV channels last night and the picture quality was brilliant.

    Is it possible to get remove the logos on the DVB channels, ie the ITV2, E4, etc logos.
     
  30. thornton

    thornton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    263
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    SKY MASSIVELY better than Freeview overall, though once in a while t'other way round if SKY are not using much bandwidth.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice