1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Better Component cable = Better picture?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by weyland-yutani, Sep 22, 2005.

  1. weyland-yutani

    weyland-yutani
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,783
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +103
    i've got a standard set of profigold component cables (£25). would my picture improve if i bought a more expensive set of cables (£50) or is all a load of stuff and nonsense? :)
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,389
    IMO better cables do improve PQ! I upgraded my component cables that were bundled with a DVD player (no idea what they were as there was no writing on them) to cables the same as those sold by Mark Grant. They were fairly cheap compared to some of the well known brand cables, but the increase in detail with more vivid colours really surprised me.
    I suggest you take a look at the Mark Grant cables in the cable power buy section as they are fairly cheap, but I think you would need to spend a lot more money to beat their performance.

    Mark.
     
  3. chrisw

    chrisw
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maidenhead
    Ratings:
    +271
    I changed my £10 unbranded component (from ebay) cable to a QED £80 cable and the difference is very noticeable.

    I currently watch sky through my DVD recorder via component (this will change in the next week to scart probably) and the improvment in PQ was slight, but watching DVDs, the PQ is 5x better at least. Everything is much sharper, the lines, the colours the motion - just all seems cleaner and crisper.

    So yes, may be worth it - and if you don't like it, you can always sell them here!
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,527
    weyland-yutani

    If your current 75ohm cables are not built to a decent spec/performance then yes replacing them with a better spec/performance cable may cause less signal degradation.

    Simply heading in the direction of a £50.00 cable set is no guarantee your going to get an improvement - look at what Mark Grant, VanDamme and manufacturers who state specifications offer and see how those £50.00 cables compare before you splash out on them.

    Here's a link to a very decent cable (currently on offer at a very favourable price) with some info on the important tech specs - http://www.bettercables.com/silserrefcom.html

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  5. Scott_Mac

    Scott_Mac
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,866
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bromsgrove
    Ratings:
    +569
    I noticed differences between cables... but you don't have to shell out a load of cash. The Mark Grant ones look excellent value but i've not tried them.

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=241589&page=2

    My post second from the bottom is a brief review of an Acoustic Research cable i bought, and it's excellent. Cost £29.99 + £4 postage.
     
  6. weyland-yutani

    weyland-yutani
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,783
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +103
    thanks guys, i may give the mark gant 1m component a go.
     
  7. spocktra

    spocktra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    worcester
    Ratings:
    +40
    Good choice but beware they are very very chunky,if space is an issue check the specs first.Approx 30mm diameter cable.Not very bendable either.
     
  8. weyland-yutani

    weyland-yutani
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,783
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +103
    yeah, but the end cables are thin aren't they?
     
  9. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    a couple of 99p audio cables will do fine.
     
  10. ijd

    ijd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +129
    how have you connected your sky box to dvd???
     
  11. ijd

    ijd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +129
    can you scart sky box to dvd and then connect dvd via component and still get your sky signal,i have tried this with my system and could not get it to work,for one when compnent is switched on the scart rgb has to be turned off, does this sound right???
     
  12. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    You can't do this, RGB pass through is possible but I don't know of any RGB to component conversions in DVD players.
     
  13. Mark Grant

    Mark Grant
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    East Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +171
    The 7710A is about 20mm diameter, not 30mm :)

    Reasonably flexible for its size !

    For more flexible component cables, 3 lengths of Belden 1694A are ideal,
    as seen
    here


    Mark.
     
  14. ijd

    ijd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +129
    Thanks for your answer, i did not think this could be done
     
  15. pragmatic

    pragmatic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    12,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,678
    My Philips DVDR80 has an rgb scart to component conversion thing.
     
  16. Troon

    Troon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Not for video.

    I'm usually a cable sceptic, but once you're up in the video frequencies, construction and shielding start to make a real difference.
     
  17. demostenes

    demostenes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Considering space a problem what do u think of the IXOS component cables?

    Being so thin how are they in terms of shielding?
     

Share This Page

Loading...