BESTA go big or go home!

jfinnie

Distinguished Member
I've finally got to the stage where my wall can no longer take any more IKEA BESTA cabinets! The "floating" section above the TV (installed last night / this morning with a hand from my little bro) finally completes my collection (/obsession?).

DSC_0012.JPG

DSC_0015.JPG

(BESTA geeks - notice anything interesting about the unit above the TV? :) )

I've been collecting BESTA since 2006 when I first bought some BESTA cabinets with TOMBO doors. A few years ago I swapped to SELSVIKEN doors as I could no longer get TOMBO and they didn't come up often enough on eBay to deal with my designs on world domination 60x64cm at a time... :)

AV-wise; it isn't that exciting to be fair. An old Sony 40" LCD, and the last of my XTZ speakers (Spirit 6 x3). Some Onkyo clone TEAC AVR which is on its last legs. Mostly used for watching kids TV on AppleTV, and a bit of casual viewing. Waiting for the 48" OLEDs to start shipping then might upgrade to one of them - or maybe a Samsung FrameTV with white bezel, not sure. As I built a soundproofed dedicated room a couple of years ago I've now even sold the sub that I was using up here and just removed the port bungs on the XTZ LCR units. The work nicely and fit the decor a treat. Lighting in the room is Rako. Might look to add some feature lighting to the TV recess at some point.

This is where the addiction all started in 2006! Those cabinets are still in use. it has been interesting seeing how the cabinets have evolved over 14 years of cost engineering; they still look almost the same but were a fair bit heftier when originally released. Credit to IKEA though, they've held their own and I really couldn't recommend anything better if you're looking for some reasonably economical stylish storage for your space.