Question Best way to stream music to Xeo 10 speakers?

Bui

Novice Member
Hello, I'm a newbie, and I register my account today to ask you a question hopefully I can have good advices from you.

For many years, we have been happy with a cheap Sony sound bar at home, and recently a Marshall Stockwell for travelling. The main, or only way has been Bluetooth streaming from our mobile phones with Spotify or Amazon Music. We listen mostly to classical music, concert, some Jazz, and kid music for our 6 yr daughter.

Recently the daughter has been showing more interest in music, she loves practicing with her piano, and listening to music. And also I have bought a few good headphones and earphones along the time, all of these start to make the Sony soundbar found wanting. I want better music quality, and for this Christmas I decided to invest in a Dynaudio Xeo 10 pair of bluetooth speakers, after a lot of reading on internet and forums. The reason: it fits my budget, I don't want to spend more than 1k, and among a few candidates (KEF LSX for example), this one offered the best Black Friday deal. I know this Xeo does not offer wifi, but reviews said its bluetooth performance is very good, which is also our favourite way (whatever I bought it must be wife-friendly or it will be a no). I hope it will be a good investment, I did not have any real audition, since with Covid and the lockdown in our country, doing it is quite risky.

Now in waiting for it to arrive, comes the question: do I need to invest in a bluetooth supported streaming device? (No wired thing because my wife hates seeing wires). Are our phones good enough to exploit the potential of this expensive speaker? We also have a Amazon Echo Dot that our daughter loves to ask for her favourite music, is this little device capable of (good quality) streaming to the Xeo (this Echo dot is pretty basic and its own speaker is awful)? Or should I invest in something better, and Alexa compatible?

Thank you :)

Bui