1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best way to control HTPC?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Desmo, Jul 15, 2001.

  1. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,512
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,892
    Got my HTPC up and running now but what is the best way to control it using my Pronto?

    Is getting an I/R Keyboard setup and then getting the Pronto to learn codes from that a good idea?
    I've also read about the Girder proggy along with an I/R receiver but how can I then get the Pronto to learn codes?
     
  2. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,512
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,892
    Cheers Jeff. I do read the AVS forums sometimes so I'll do a search for the power buy thread.
    If there's no joy there then basically all I need is an IR keyboard, yes?
     
  3. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Yes, The philips just gives you the added mouse mode support.

    Jeff
     
  4. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    I have a quite simple setup. I have an Airboard IR keyboard which I use for Internet browsing etc. You can get the pronto to learn the various shortcut keys off the IR keyboard for controlling WinDVD etc. I currently only use Girder for starting and closing applications but it can do a lot more. With Girder you can assign an event such as start WinDVD to a key combo like Ctrl+shift+1 and then assign a close program event to Ctrl+shift+2 (WinDVD already has an exit shortcut so this isn't needed) On www.avscience.com HTPC forum there is a power buy for a Philips IR keyboard, this is compatible with the pronto mouse mode so that you can use the pronto a mouse touchpad. The guy doing the power buy is from the UK and he may still have some available.

    Jeff
     
  5. Tim Cooper

    Tim Cooper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Laindon Essex
    Ratings:
    +96
    Desmo,

    Don't think you can buy an airboard in the UK but dabs do an excellent clone called the Airkey only 17 sobs :D

    Cheers
    Tim
     
  6. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,512
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,892
    Bloody hell. You answered my next question before I even asked it :)

    I did have a look through dabs along with afew other places.
    Is the dabs one quite good quality? It doesn't need to be brilliant as I'm not going to use it a grea deal once I've set up my pronto.
     
  7. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,821
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,559
    You can indeed buy the Airboard in the UK for about £25. www.xenex.co.uk is where I got mine from.
     
  8. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,512
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,892
    Oh yeah, so you can. Cheers Spectre :)
     
  9. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,512
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,892
    Just ordered up my Airboard so should be here tomorrow :)
    Cheers for the help guys.
     
  10. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,512
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,892
    Well, just had my keyboard turn up and she sure does look purdy :)
    Haven't had a chance to use it yet but, once again, following the advice on these forums you can't seem to go wrong.

    It's alot nicer being able to take advice from people who already own a product rather than trusting some hardware site review.

    Thanks again guys.
     
  11. TWD

    TWD
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't know how it rates with the airboard but www.microdirect.co.uk do an infra-red keyboard with a sort of mouse pad for around £17. I've got one and it's quite nice.
     
  12. GarryF

    GarryF
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,358
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +299
    Probably doesn't matter now but I got a IRMan from http://www.evation.com/irman/index.html

    With a pronto all you do is create RC codes, I picked some at random and it worked no problem.

    I guess the benefits of this method are there are no limit to the codes you can use and in my case I can use a full size logitec RF keyboard and mouse which are great, don't need line of sight etc
     
  13. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,512
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,892
    Cheers for the input guys. I have read about the Irman before but needed a keyboard for this new setup anyway.
    I'll probably get one in the future if I really need to. Bt the keyboard works fine for now.

    This HTPC thing is great. Got my fave playlists on the pronto. One press and on it all comes :)
    Get a pretty good picture from the DVD too. Now I can use all region discs and pass through DTS to my amp. (My standalone Sony is an old model that is region 2 only and only supports DD)
     

Share This Page

Loading...