Best way to connect to HD73?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Abbeygoo, Sep 1, 2007.

  1. Abbeygoo

    Abbeygoo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    25,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +10,165
    I'm pretty much settled on the purchase of the Themescene HD73 and wanted to have this quick question answered.

    The HD73 has one DVI input and one HDMI input. I want to connect my SkyHD and Toshiba HDE1 DVD player. What would be the best way?

    I believe the Sky has to go through the HDMI - HDMI route, so what for the HD DVD player? Is it best to buy a good quality HDMI cable (the run will be about 10 metres) and have a DVI convertor plugged into the projector? Or, will it be best to purchase a good quality HDMI- DVI cable and plug that straight in?

    Any opinions welcome!!
     
  2. sdb123

    sdb123
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    18,183
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rushden, Northants
    Ratings:
    +2,255
    Do you have an AV amp with HDMI inputs/output?
     
  3. Abbeygoo

    Abbeygoo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    25,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +10,165
    no. I had considered that but not at the moment due to a limited budget.
     
  4. sdb123

    sdb123
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    18,183
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rushden, Northants
    Ratings:
    +2,255
    In that case then the HDMI>HDMI and HDMI>DVI route is the one for you! It doesn't really matter which source is plugged into which cable.

    The only alternative is to get an HDMI switcher and plug both sources into that with one HDMI output to the PJ.
     
  5. Abbeygoo

    Abbeygoo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    25,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +10,165
    Does a HDMI switcher lose any quality compared to running two cables to the PJ?
     
  6. sdb123

    sdb123
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    18,183
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rushden, Northants
    Ratings:
    +2,255
    Not if you get a decent one. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...