1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best way to connect sky plus to z2?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Richiero, Feb 4, 2005.

1. Richiero

Richiero

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to this game and out of my depth. I bought a scart to s video yesterday but that appears black and white. I can't find a scart to DVI.

Does that leave s video? Is it any good?

Any thoughts appreciated.

2. juniper

juniper

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +56
    Hi and welcome :hiya:

What sort of AV amp do you use, and what other sources do you have? If you just have Sky + then you could use a RGB to YUV (component) converter, thus taking component cables to the Z2, which will give you a considerably better image than S-video. I you have multiple sources then you can do this via your amp (dependent upon what it is), feeding your sources into there and then one set of component cables into the Z2. There are otherways of course, but as far as Sky + is concerned, the component option is (IMHO :) ) about as good as you can get, before you get into purchasing external scalers etc.

3. Richiero

Richiero

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks. I use either sky plus or my pc. I haven't got an amp at all. As I say, out of my depth!!!

I bought it really to use on my pc which is high spec with 5.1 speakers. I rather foolishly thought I could hook these up to sky somehow, but it appears not.

I apologise for sullying the forum with such ineptitude.

Ta for your help, I'm off to Maplin at lunch for RGB to component.

Then I'll have to think about sound!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4. summat

summat
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0