best way to connect my sky box

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by thelostone, Aug 28, 2006.

  1. thelostone

    thelostone
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have a denon 1906 and at the moment i am running my sky box straight to the amp via some rca leads.The question is this would i be better off running the sound through my dvd recorder then to the amp via the optical cable.Would that give me a better sound?thanks
     
  2. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,840
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    Why don't you run the optical lead straight from your Sky box to the Denon?

    [Edit]-Ah-does your Sky box actually have an optical out as you don't mention which one you've got?
     
  3. thelostone

    thelostone
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +6
    no mate i only have sky not sky+ which as you say would be a lot eaiser:(
     
  4. clockworks

    clockworks
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Country
    Ratings:
    +297
    Looping through the DVD recorder can't possibly make the signal better. The best that you can hope for is that it'll sound the same. In reality, it'll sound worse, if it works at all.
     
  5. Ianfromnotts

    Ianfromnotts
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +174
    Buy a second hand Sky+ box and just swap it over with your existing sky box, phone sky to reset the card the box and take the digital audio out into your av amp - great up grade for not too much cash
     
  6. thelostone

    thelostone
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks for your help looks like a sky+ box is the way to go :suicide:
     

Share This Page

Loading...