1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best way to connect a PS2?

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by rupbert, Jun 24, 2002.

  1. rupbert

    rupbert
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +18
    Hey guys, awaiting delivery of a new JVC (AV28R25S) and a Sony (DVPNS405S) DVD player.

    My current setup has the PS2 connected to my Sky Digibox using the scart adaptor.

    I then have a basic (poor) phono lead taking the audio from the Digibox into a Technics Hi-Fi.

    What is the best way to connect the PS2 to my new JVC, to get the best possible sound and image.

    The JVC has 2 x RGB scart, composite video input and s-video input.

    Cheers, rupbert
     
  2. NeoBlade

    NeoBlade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    RGB scart without a doubt rupbert. Have Sky in AV1 and the PS2 in AV2 (both RGB of course). That way you'll have the best type of connection without any interference. Just don't forget to buy a decent (gold plated) RGB scart lead for the PS2 as well. You can also buy PS2 scart cables with video and audio out for your lightguns.

    Try not to connect anything with composite unless you have to though, its the worse type of connection for visual quality without a doubt.

    S-Video is often ranked inbetween composite (worst) and RGB (best for pretty much everyone) in terms of visual quality since it often has more noise and slightly sharper edges. That doesn't mean the game will look better via S-Video than RGB scart though, since its the best type of connection for everyone without a plasma or a projector.

    Hope that helps.
     
  3. rupbert

    rupbert
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +18
    Thanks a lot Neo, I thought that would be the best way just needed a qualified opinion.

    By the way, I have not seen any gold plated RGB interconnects for the PS2.

    Are they a specialized lead, and if so is there a particular brand that I should be looking for?

    Cheers, rupbert
     
  4. NeoBlade

    NeoBlade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its not specialised but I haven't seen too many on sale thesedays to be honest. Don't know why though but I'm sure Sony still sell their RGB Cable for a hefty price and I can't remember if its gold plated or not. The one I bought was made by Joytech "Super RGB Scart cable". Only £5 new as well.

    I was shopping in GameStation and they had exactly the same cable by the same make, but with different packaging (blue for PSX and black for PS2). The PSX cable was £5 and the PS2 cable was £15... So I snapped up the PSX cables before they noticed because they are totally identical... Anything you can use on the PSX you can on the PS2, so have a shop around.

    If all else fails shop online since there are quite a few reputable gaming sites around.
     
  5. rupbert

    rupbert
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +18
    Thanks again, will keep an eye out for the RGB interconnect.

    Just another question regarding your intial reply.

    You say to connect Sky into the AV1 socket using an RGB scart; does the Sky DigiBox (Pace) have an RGB enabled scart socket as standard?

    If so, will using an RGB scart help 'cut down' the colour bleed that is highly visable when viewing the blue onscreen menus [epg]?

    Incidently I will be buying 2 x Ixos 126V 1.5m Fully wired Gold Plated scart leads at £29.23 each.

    Cheers, rupbert
     
  6. NeoBlade

    NeoBlade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah mate, the Sky digibox supports RGB. The difference is huge when you toggle between PAL and RGB. Trouble is it isn't enabled from the start so turn on Sky and press the..

    Services button on the remote -> System Settings -> Picture Settings -> Video Output -> and select RGB.

    You can toggle between the two to see the difference. Just make sure you've connected Sky to the RGB socket on the TV of course.

    The jump in quality will be pretty big and now you can watch Sky as it was intended. You can also set the aspect ratio on this screen if you have a widescreen TV.

    Hope that helps. Happy viewing ^_^
     
  7. rupbert

    rupbert
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +18
    Yeah thanks Neo, I played with the settings a while back, and I remember switching from PAL to RGB and the colour bleed virtually dissappeared and the overall image was much more sharper.

    However because it was a standard scart lead, the level of brightness dropped dramatically and was un-watchable.

    Cannot wait to get my new TV :D
     
  8. NeoBlade

    NeoBlade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hehe you and me too ^_^ Just don't forget to set up the TV before picking out the small details. I often leave the Sky contrast on medium and then whip out my DVD disk to set up the TV.

    Sadly in the UK they don't seem to offer a proper TV calibration DVD... So I'm surrently using a Scotch DVD lens cleaner with screen calibration and a 5.1 demo, and the Region 1 Rush Hour II DVD <g>

    It is important to set up a new TV though since the standard settings are always awful. Buy a scotch dvd lens cleaner for about £10-15 and use it to set the contract, brightness, tint and colour settings for optimal viewing.

    Rush Hour II also has its own screen calibration screens which are just as good (until I get my hands on a proper calibration DVD...). Just rent the movie or borrow it off somebody and use the screen to set up your TV. Chances are you won't like it at first since a lot of people are used to the overly high contrast but once its done, you won't have to touch the settings ever again.
     
  9. Lex

    Lex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi rupbert,

    I too have a PS2 and the PACE digibox.

    Something you may also want to know is that the Pace digibox has rgb passthrough. This means that you can connect your PS2 into it and still have a spare rgb socket left in your tv. ;)

    I bought the Blaze Ultimate Scart Lead from http://shop.gameplay.co.uk/webstore/productpage.asp?ProductCode=PT0169 and would really recommend it. It gets rid of the 'green screen' and has autoswitching. :)
     
  10. rupbert

    rupbert
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +18
    Many thanks Lex
     
  11. chairman_drek

    chairman_drek
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey! I'm having a prob related to this.
    I have tried everything to know how to solve it but it seems no one knows how to do it. I was searching on the net for a way to solve the prob and here I am :p maybe someone can help me.
    I'm thinking about buying a new hi-fi, an LG LF-D7150 (it has Optical Digital Audio In, Audio (L/R) In, Component Video Out, S-Video Out and Composite Video Out). I want to connect it to my PS2, wich is already connected to my TV, that unfortunately only has 1 AV host. I want to use the hi-fi not only to connect it to my ipod but to use the surround features when I am playing or watching a DVD on the ps2. My question is: is there a way to have both systems connected to my "1 AV" TV and be able to watch DVD's either from the ps2 or the hi-fi, with the surround, without having to mess with the connections every time I want to use the hi-fi or ps2?

    Mnay thanks and sorry about the inconvenience ;)
     
  12. fallenangle

    fallenangle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +23
    It sounds as if you need a SCART splitter/distributer but one with optical digital audio in/out too. These are available from electronics/AV specialists but you're unlikely to find one in the high street.

    You should try Gameplay.com they may have what you're looking for. They certainly had a 4 way SCART distributer with optical audio input/output for each socket too a year ago but now I don't know. I think it was made by Joytech. Not cheap though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...