Best VDSL Router : TP-link W9980 or Asus DSL-AC68U?

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by css_jay99, Jul 19, 2015.

  1. css_jay99

    css_jay99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +43
    Hi guys,
    I am currently on BT fibre using the open reach modem + a Netgear WNDR3700 cable router

    I have only ever used Netgear routers & Modems and have been satisfied with the ease of their menu setup/configs .... but thinking maybe to venture to other brands

    I want to cut down on the no of plugged in appliances so was thinking of ditching the router + modem setup for a single box.

    So I have a TP-link TD W9980 VDSL2+ & an Asus DSL-AC68U sitting in my living room un-opened courtesy of amazon. I was going to get the draytek Vigor 28860Vn+ as well but I can justify the price ...

    If we ignore the price of these units, Which is the best of the two ?
    cheers
     
  2. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    You may also want to take a look at the Netgear D7000 which is released today. Fwiw I have the Asus DSL-AC68U and whilst it's a cracking bit of kit and I've not had any major issues with it, there are quite a few that are having real problems getting it stable. Just thought you ought to know.
     
  3. tdenson

    tdenson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +51
     
  4. tdenson

    tdenson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +51
    I use the TPLink on a VDSL installation and it has worked flawlessly. The only problem I had was setting it up, it was completely unintuitive. If you specify BT as your ISP it doesn't work.
     
  5. css_jay99

    css_jay99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +43
    sorry for late reply. Been away on hols...

    Boxes still siting by the hallway.

    Looks like I might as well wait for for reviews on The netgear D7000 before buying.

    shipping them back to amazon
     

Share This Page

Loading...