1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best tv for watching football??

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Markybhoy, Jan 11, 2004.

1. Markybhoy

Markybhoy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    As stated above, I have just got myself a sony kv32fx68 tv100 hz.

Have to say that I am abit disappointed in the picture quality when watching live football on sky.

Piture is quite grainy and when you go to a wide shoot the picture goes a wee bit out of focus and this can make it hard to make out the players.

Is it worth taking the tv back and going for a 50 hz tv or a digital tv? I am not too technical minded so I am not to sure what the difference in quality would be if any.

I run the picture straight from the digibox straight into the back of the tv using the round connector (not sure what the technical name is called), is it worth buying a good quality scart cable to see if this helps improve the picture?

Cheers

2. GaryB

GaryB

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,264
    You have two real problems:

The low bitrate that Sky use can give MPEG arefacts on anything with fast moving picture content. Unless you can pursuade Mr Murdoch to put picture quality ahead of profit (which is unlikely), you can't do much about this.

Virtually all 100Hz TVs have problems with fast moving picture content. This usually shows as smearing on fast moving pictures and pixelisation, among other things. Some people are sensitive to this, some don't notice it. When you use a 100Hz TV with Sky, it tries to process the MPEG artefacts as picture content, which makes things even worse.

Since you can't do much about the first problem, you can try switching off all of the digital trickery to help with the second. If this doesn't work, try a 50Hz set.

3. Markybhoy

Markybhoy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: