• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Best time of year to buy ?

Sussex-John

Standard Member
Hi, I'm new to this, so I've been reading these boards for a few days - great information, thank you. So after a few days of research, I thought I wanted a DSP-AX763 and some Q-Acoustic 1010i speakers, but I now realise that the Yamaha is sold out and is being replaced by a new model. I've also noticed that the price for it has changed a lot over the last 12 months. So my question is do you think some months are much better for getting a deal? Thanks, John

Hi, I'm new to this, so I've been reading these boards for a few days - great information, thank you. So after a few days of research, I thought I wanted a DSP-AX763 and some Q-Acoustic 1010i speakers, but I now realise that the Yamaha is sold out and is being replaced by a new model. I've also noticed that the price for it has changed a lot over the last 12 months. So my question is do you think some months are much better for getting a deal? Thanks, John

Exchange rates and availability have been key over the last six months. Assuming new models means availability I would purchase your chosen choice when you can, unless timing is not of the essence. Perhaps the next years models will yield discounts on obselete models but this year supplies of existing popular models dried up.

Last edited:

dante01

Distinguished Member
Probably the best period to buy anything is the months following Christmas. There's usually no shortage of stock, models released around about now are on the shelves still and retailers discount stock to attract customers.

Passingbat

Distinguished Member