Best sound connections for EP35 and Blu Ray player?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Azzin, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    Hil all,

    I'm now thinking of getting myself an EP35 for all my HD DVDs/R2 DVDs and then a Region A Blu Ray player when I'm in the USA later this year (perhaps a 20Gb PS3?) for Region A Blu Ray disks and my R1 DVDs (I think that covers all my disk choices!)

    I have a Denon 1906 amp, so which connections would be best used for these two machines to get the best sound out of my speakers (my Denon has 2 x Coax in and 2 x Optical in connections)?

    Cheers. :thumbsup:
     
  2. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,967
    Hi Azzin :)
    So your amp does not do audio over HDMI,is that right?
    It has the 5.1 multi-outs though,yeah. :)
     
  3. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    Hi! :hiya: :D

    That is correct.

    The amp?

    Here's a pic of the rear of the amp:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,967
    Hi mate :)
    Ok :) the EP35 will do you as you can use the 5.1's to your Denon (6x phono leads) and get TrueHD. :D
    The Blu-ray player,i'll leave to someone else to answer as i have the Ps3 for Blu-ray and audio is HDMI only.
    Cheers mate. :smashin:
    You could use the Ps3 but your be limited to optical.
     
  5. theo cupier

    theo cupier
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,670
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Amersham, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +113
    Allowing the players to decode the HD audio tracks and send them via analog to your amp will give you the best sound through the speakers. Either digital coax or optical will end up downmixing the DD soundtracks to DD5.1 (or only decoding the core DTS track for DTS HD).

    I guess one issue is that if the EP35 is using your set of 5.1 analog inputs, what you'll do with your "second" player if you also want to use analog audio outs for this...

    Quite a few BD players decode the HD audio and send it via analog out although, as yet, none of them decode DTS-MA. Arguably, neither does the EP35, but DTS-MA seems to be more frequently found in BD than HD land, so this could be more of an issue.
     
  6. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    So I'm fairly stuffed if I want/need to connect them both up via analogue? :confused:
     
  7. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,967
    Hi mate :)
    Both the EP35 and the Ps3 have optical,the HD audio is downsampled that's all. :)
    If you just want to use optical? i would go EP30 and the Ps3. :cool:
     
  8. theo cupier

    theo cupier
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,670
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Amersham, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +113
    Yep, so not exactly in keeping with the original question about "best audio connections"...

    Someone may be able to adivse on an analog audio switch of some kind (to allow you to put 2 sets of analog inputs into the one set in your amp and switch between them depending on which source is active).

    If so, I'd be passingly interested in knowing the answer myself!
     
  9. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,967
    EP35,you could use the multi-analogues for TrueHD on your amp,with the Ps3 your stuck with optical out. :)
     
  10. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    Thanks, but would that give me the HD audio from the PS3?

    [Edit] - Just re-read :oops:

    And no it won't as it will downmix it.
     
  11. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,967
    No. :(
    Regular DD but at a higher bit rate. :)
     
  12. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    Ok cool, is there a huge difference as I reckon I will always wondering how much better what I'm listening to on the PS3 could sound!? :D
     
  13. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,967
    You mean the difference between DD and HD audio,because yeah :D just as big upgrade as the jump to high definiton picture quality. :cool:
     
  14. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    Thought as much. :(

    Which brings me full circle to as to how I can connect an EP35 and a PS3 to my amp and get the best(HD) sound of them?

    Analogue appears to be the way to go for both, so can I get something that will allow me to connect to 2 x inputs into each of the 5.1 analogue ins?

    Something like this:

    [​IMG]

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=29192&&source=14&doy=22m1

    presumably if I get one of those for each of the 5.1 "in" connectors on my amp, that will allow me to connect a lead from the PS3 and the EP35 to each of them?

    Or have I got that totally arse about face? :D
     
  15. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,967
    Hi mate :)
    The Ps3 has no multi analogues out so the best bet for you is to use the optical out to your receiver. :smashin:
    The EP35 does have the multi's,you could use them straight to your amp :cool: so you've got both connected (EP35 multi's- Ps3 optical ) no problem. :)
    You need 6 single phono leads or 3 x pair. Here's a pic. :D
    [​IMG]
     
  16. tiresias

    tiresias
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +33
    On a quick related point, how do you connect the 5.1 analogue outputs of an XE1 to the 6.1 analogue inputs on my amp? Do I need a phono splitter for the rears?

    TIA
     
  17. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    Thanks for that, but if I connect the PS3 via optical aren't I missing out on HD sound as it downsamples it?
     
  18. tiresias

    tiresias
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +33
    Elsewhere I've seen the Zektor HDS4.1 recommended as a 5.1 switch

    http://www.zektor.com/hds41/index.html

    ...at a price, though :eek:
     
  19. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    Azzin

    avoid those cables, I have several sets of these and they sound awful but are also 'electrically' not smart.

    You need a switcher that can do 5.1, these can be 'mechanical' or electronic. Many of the electronic ones will also switch SPDIF and the best ones (Zektor) will also do HDMI. However if you need a cheap solution to get you going, try two BTech BT25s. They are a 3 Way audio video control unit, that has three inputs (and two outputs). They are designed for composite, L and R but are fine for the job in hand. They will will give you an extra input, (and output if needed) and don't cost the earth, though are not 'pretty'. A bit more money will get a a prettier solution. Inside they are just a simple mechanical switch. Nothing posh but it works. Shout if you need any other help. Do be warned that multiple analogue cables can start to get expensive, especially with a switcher, 2 inputs to a switche means you need 9 pairs of cables. £££££ ;)

    Don't forget no analogue multi channel outputs from PS3 however, just HDMI and optical. so an optical from PS3 and multichannel from 35 is a good solution for you until you get HDMI receiver.

    You will also find full bit rate DD and DTS (available from both formats) deliver quality well above current DVD offerings.
     
  20. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    Roger that!

    Even using optical out on the PS3?

    [Edit] - Presumably using optical out is superior to using the red and white phono outs to my amp?
     
  21. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,967
    Hi mate :)
    That's your only choice i'm afraid mate. :(
    But as Nic has said :) still sounds good. :smashin:
    Unless you treat yourself to a new amp. :eek:;)
     
  22. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,967
    Ps3-optical :) EP35-multi-analogues. :smashin:
     
  23. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    Like the Onkyo 605 you mean? :devil:
     
  24. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,967
    Then you would be sorted. :thumbsup:
     
  25. batty

    batty
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +27
    :hiya: Azzin

    I thought you had your HTPC plugged into the Amps 5.1 in.
    Have you given up on the HTPC?

    Dave
     
  26. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    This could end up being the most expensive "idea" of mine ever! :eek:

    Damn this forum! :devil:
     
  27. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    I do have it all via analogue, but SWMBO is not over keen on the constant faffing aronund that comes with an HTPC.

    I love it and I'm fairly happy tinkering with it, but she hates all of that and would much prefer standard bits of kit that "just work". :rolleyes:
     
  28. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    DD on DVD is generally at 380 or 440 bps. On Blu ray, the DD track (often hidden but used for SPDIF) is often upto 640 and this delivers quite a jump in quality. DTheatre also gave DD at 640 and was one of the reasons people liked the format, it was a jump on both audio and video quality. The HD DVD players have an even better system where the 'audio track' you select is 'recoded before spdif output for backwards compatibility, do high bit rate DD+ (1500) or the lossless formats 'can' benefit from this output. Many HD DVD players output on SPDIF at DD 640 rates but my two players do DTS at full DTS 1500 rates so even lossless sound tracks are given a modest boost through SPDIF. The loss less sound tracks are good but for most people they find the high bit rate DD / DTS on these new formats a jump in quality which they like and notice.
     
  29. tiresias

    tiresias
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +33
    :lease:
     
  30. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,967
    Hi mate :)
    You don't need to,the Xe1 is 5.1 out. :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...