Best software for PCs

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by Pecker, May 6, 2007.

  1. Pecker

    Pecker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    22,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Huddersfield, People's Republic of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,612
    I now have a PC linked to a 32" LCD in my kitchen. It's also linked to a very good Denon mini hi-fi unit. Details of how this happened is here:

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?p=4771117#post4771117

    I want to be able to play any of my music on this system. My CD collection is 2 floors up. It's easier to use this PC than to run up and down stairs.

    So, I now have a PC, a display, and an external hard drive big enough to hold all the music I want.

    What's the best software to play and orgainse the music? I currently have Creative MediSource Organiser and Windows Media Player.

    The software should be able to sort my current files so they're accessible easily by track, artist, or album, with easy to make (and easy to play) playlists.

    It should be idiot proof because the missus needs to use it.

    Cheers.

    Steve W
     
  2. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,150
  3. Pecker

    Pecker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    22,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Huddersfield, People's Republic of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,612
  4. Pecker

    Pecker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    22,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Huddersfield, People's Republic of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,612
    Looks great, is it easy to use?

    Is FLAC the best lossless to use?

    Steve W
     
  5. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,150
    Yep, it's quite easy to use once you know your way around!

    I don't use lossless much, but the few tracks I have converted I normally use FLAC. Othr lossless formats include ALAC and WM Lossless. Personally I'd stick with FLAC.
     
  6. amcluesent

    amcluesent
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    5,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +1,167
    J River Media Centre and OrangeCD or both good, as you have the big telly, also Windows Media Centre

    BTW, have you considered running slimserver on the PC with a Squeezebox connected to the Denon? The standard sound card in the PC isn't generally 'hi-fi' in any way...
     
  7. Pecker

    Pecker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    22,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Huddersfield, People's Republic of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,612
    I'm a bit hacked off.

    I've downloaded MediaMonkey. I put in a CD and it won't pull any tag information from the internet.

    I've then started the Creative programme again and, if I try using their system (gracenote) that won't work either. I get a little box saying it won't get any info because the info provider's server is down (doubt it), my internet connection is down (as you can see, it isn't), or it's a copy controlled CD (it isn't, indeed I've tried ones I've ripped before and got the info from Gracenote.

    BTW, with FLAC at media monkey, should I set compression to '0' or '8'?

    Steve W
     
  8. Autopilot

    Autopilot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,629
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Region 2
    Ratings:
    +1,516
    Just leave it at setting 5. At the highest setting you will only notice a very small increase in compression, yet encoding will take a long time.
     

Share This Page

Loading...