Best Software for editing

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by Leeray3, Apr 13, 2004.

  1. Leeray3

    Leeray3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Basically very simple question.

    I record stuff onto my set-top player (Philips 880) using DVD+RW
    I would like to stick this in my PC edited bits of it (just basic stuff) and then burn it onto DVD.

    Simple really.

    One thing that is important is that I want the image quality to be as good as it gets as I record everything in 1 hr mode (HQ Mode) for the best results.

    Please let me know what suggestions you have.
    I recently asked a similar question before and was recommended to use Video studio 7. This is no good to me as apparently it does not accept AC-3 audio which is what my player records in.
    I tried the trial version and everything was fine except there was no audio present.

    Any help would really be appreciated as I am running out of DVD+RW discs.
     
  2. Leeray3

    Leeray3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Come on Guys....Someone out there must be able to help me.:lease:
     
  3. Brian110507

    Brian110507
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. dragon1

    dragon1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lee, have a look on here http://www.dvdrhelp.com/ ,its not very often we get to rip a DVD then burn back to one !

    what i do is use the s video o/p from my sky+ box ( plus the audio) through a Canopus A to D converter then edit the resultant AVI file with Virtualdub ( you will get all the info fron vcd help) then do what ever i need to do to it, however to get anything back to a DVD it has to be converted into compliant mpeg 2 again more help from above..... good luck
     
  5. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +26
    I use Ulead DVD Studio and love it. The new Version 2 allows Dolby Digital encoding with your home movies. Worth a look?
     
  6. Leeray3

    Leeray3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    What is the Picture Quality like for Ulead DVD Studio?
    I want to keep the quality as high as possible
     
  7. Leeray3

    Leeray3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK I am losing the will to live now.
    I downloaded the Ulead Mediastudio pro and guess what.....No audio!

    I have tried Videostudio 7 and now moviestudio pro and both of them give me no audio on my videos that I capture from DVD.

    Am I doing something wrong? Has anyone else had this problem?

    Do I perhaps have to capture audio separately from video?

    Can't believe this is so difficult.
     
  8. BadAss

    BadAss
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +182
    If the output is labled AC-3 are you sure its not RF AC-3 rather than the normal digital AC-3. If so you need a RF demodulator to cconvert the signal. This happens alot for Laser Disc players.
     
  9. Leeray3

    Leeray3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not sure Mr badass. I have noticed something else which is different to other downloads I have tried.

    When I captured video to my hard drive there was never any audio present, not even when I played this clip through Powerdvd or windows media player.

    When I do the same thing with Mediastudio Pro I don't get the audio but when I play the video captured through something else the audio is present.
    I also played the captured video through Moviestudio 2 and the audio was there also.
    Could it be that I've got one of the settings wrong or is this info totally irrelevant?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice