1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best Software for editing

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by Leeray3, Apr 13, 2004.

  1. Leeray3

    Leeray3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Basically very simple question.

    I record stuff onto my set-top player (Philips 880) using DVD+RW
    I would like to stick this in my PC edited bits of it (just basic stuff) and then burn it onto DVD.

    Simple really.

    One thing that is important is that I want the image quality to be as good as it gets as I record everything in 1 hr mode (HQ Mode) for the best results.

    Please let me know what suggestions you have.
    I recently asked a similar question before and was recommended to use Video studio 7. This is no good to me as apparently it does not accept AC-3 audio which is what my player records in.
    I tried the trial version and everything was fine except there was no audio present.

    Any help would really be appreciated as I am running out of DVD+RW discs.
     
  2. Leeray3

    Leeray3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Come on Guys....Someone out there must be able to help me.:lease:
     
  3. Brian110507

    Brian110507
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. dragon1

    dragon1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lee, have a look on here http://www.dvdrhelp.com/ ,its not very often we get to rip a DVD then burn back to one !

    what i do is use the s video o/p from my sky+ box ( plus the audio) through a Canopus A to D converter then edit the resultant AVI file with Virtualdub ( you will get all the info fron vcd help) then do what ever i need to do to it, however to get anything back to a DVD it has to be converted into compliant mpeg 2 again more help from above..... good luck
     
  5. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25
    I use Ulead DVD Studio and love it. The new Version 2 allows Dolby Digital encoding with your home movies. Worth a look?
     
  6. Leeray3

    Leeray3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    What is the Picture Quality like for Ulead DVD Studio?
    I want to keep the quality as high as possible
     
  7. Leeray3

    Leeray3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK I am losing the will to live now.
    I downloaded the Ulead Mediastudio pro and guess what.....No audio!

    I have tried Videostudio 7 and now moviestudio pro and both of them give me no audio on my videos that I capture from DVD.

    Am I doing something wrong? Has anyone else had this problem?

    Do I perhaps have to capture audio separately from video?

    Can't believe this is so difficult.
     
  8. BadAss

    BadAss
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +182
    If the output is labled AC-3 are you sure its not RF AC-3 rather than the normal digital AC-3. If so you need a RF demodulator to cconvert the signal. This happens alot for Laser Disc players.
     
  9. Leeray3

    Leeray3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not sure Mr badass. I have noticed something else which is different to other downloads I have tried.

    When I captured video to my hard drive there was never any audio present, not even when I played this clip through Powerdvd or windows media player.

    When I do the same thing with Mediastudio Pro I don't get the audio but when I play the video captured through something else the audio is present.
    I also played the captured video through Moviestudio 2 and the audio was there also.
    Could it be that I've got one of the settings wrong or is this info totally irrelevant?
     

Share This Page

Loading...