1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best software for CD to MP3

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by sticker, Dec 31, 2003.

  1. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    Any recommendations for software to convert CD audio to MP3. I'm using XP home/pro.

    regards
    John
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    Sorry, but I don't have a clue either. I am looking into this also as I am awaiting the arrival of my IRiver and will need to convert my CD collection.

    Mark.
     
  3. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
  4. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    I used Easy CD-DA Extractor V5 to convert most of my CD collection to 192kbps MP3s and found it to be fast and very easy to use.

    http://www.poikosoft.com/

    Cheers, Lee
     
  5. Rob.Screene

    Rob.Screene
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Berks, England
    Ratings:
    +45
    Another vote for audiograbber.

    Fast and reliable (especially reading copy protected CD's via a Pioneer A03 DVD writer drive).

    Nice freedb integration to get track titles, artist, year, genre.

    Can use LAME free high-quality MP3 encoder DLL internally or pre-defined call to Monkey's Audio APE encoder if you prefer to have a 600-850Kbps lossless audio library.

    regards,
    Rob.
     
  6. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,925
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,660
    Haven't ever used anything but Audiograbber. Which I have never had problems with.
     
  7. Loafer316

    Loafer316
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    I personally use EAC (Exact Audio Copy) with Lame Mp3 .dll nice to get the cd track/titles from the freedb database too. I've just started to experiment with monkey audio with playback on foobar2000
     
  8. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    I use DbPowerAmp (which uses Lame) and some people use Itunes from apple.
    Both are free and XP compatible.
    Azzo.
     
  9. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    Audiograbber for me as well, never had a problem ever.
     
  10. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks everyone for your recommendations.

    2 questions with Audiograbber.
    1) why can I not rip some tracks on a CD, some tracks have a tick against them which I can rip but other have no tick which I can't rip
    2) How can I change the quality of the rip, ie a higher bit rate?

    Regards
    John

    Hapy new year to everyone
     
  11. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    The trial only allows you to select half of the tracks, you have to start the program again and it selects another half. Now this would be a pain but as from Feb 9th 2004 Audiograbber is going freeware so this restriction will be removed (or you can pay $20 for the full version now). If you click the MP3 button then a page is brought up that allows you to select which codac is used and its settings.
     
  12. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Graham
     
  13. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +181
    I use this too. It's entirely free as well as very accurate, also use the --r3mix switch on LAME for high quality VBR MP3s :)

    Got my whole CD collection ripped !
     
  14. kryten

    kryten
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +14
    I've got most of my collection as WAVs (for home listening) and MP3 for portable use.

    I used EAC and LAME for everything - some CDs take ages to rip with EAC (it will probably be slower than most other programs, if set up properly) but its worth it for the quality of the rip.

    There are many places offering EAC/LAME setup and config tips, so try a google search on them.
     
  15. Ken

    Ken
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Messages:
    362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +2
    EAC, Monkey's Audio and Lame for me. Lossless compression for home and Lame at 192 for portable.

    Ken
     
  16. triplebj

    triplebj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    EAC, FLAC and Ogg for me !

    FLAC with foobar2000 on the HTPC. FLAC, Ogg or MP3 on the Rio Karma ;-)

    /BJ
     
  17. danez

    danez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dunstable, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +11
    Winamp will do what you are wanting, it will convert your audio tracks to mp3. and its free.
     
  18. the_sanguine

    the_sanguine
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +7
    Does recording from a quality CD player (Audio or optical) give better results with the iRiver?
     
  19. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    In theory the better the transport the better the digital recording and the better the DAC in the CDP the better the analogue recording. In real life though it will depend on a lot of things such as the compression used (OGG, MP3 etc) and then the bit rate used, or if uncompressed (WAV) the differences could be very noticeable. Also the quality of headphones used and the enviroment in which you are listening to the recording. All things being equal I would recommend the best possible source available is used. Or better still rip the CD's on a PC with EAC & compressed with LAME (see earlier posts in this thread).

    Mark.
     
  20. SimonInd

    SimonInd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    I use CDex which is free and can compress using Lame, WMA or Monkey's Audio. It also connects to CDDB to get the tracklists...

    Cheers

    Simon
     
  21. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +181
    EAC and LAME (with --r3mix switch) or if you want lossless use FLAC or Monkey's Audio with EAC. But EAC everytime for ripping :)

    EAC connects to freedb.
     
  22. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    EAC + RazorLame (Lame with a frontend)
     
  23. poinsy

    poinsy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    EAC and Lame for me too. EAC can take ages with all the checks it does, but if you are in a rush, you can easily turn these off and rip super fast.
     

Share This Page

Loading...