Best sky+ box?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by MarTTy, Mar 23, 2004.

  1. MarTTy

    MarTTy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just about to get sky+ installed and want to know which is the best box. I currently have a grundig sky box sending video via s video.

    I'm after something with optical output (5.1) to my amp and s video or even component via my HTPC to display onto my projector....any issues or boxes to keep clear of would be appreciated.

    cheers

    MarTTy
     
  2. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    At the moment, all Sky+ boxes are made by Pace.
     
  3. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    27,350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +6,204
    There's a new one out made by Amstrad, which I had installed today. I'll let you know how I get on with it
     
  4. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Except the V3 ones made by Amstrad. ;)

    StooMonster
     
  5. homebooby

    homebooby
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    We're in November now and I was wondering if the above is still the same.

    Does anyone know of a list of boxes/box reviews by any chance. I am looking at maybe upgrading to sky+ and am evaluating the cost/advantage of upgrading the panny dsb40 I have at the moment.

    Thanks a lot
     
  6. bobcar

    bobcar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    You can get Pace (V2) or more probably Amstrad if Sky install it, there are no other standard boxes. There is also the 160 which is much more expensive.
     
  7. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I would go for the Pace box. If you ever want to put a bigger hard drive into the box, there is a lot more experience of doing this with the Pace than with the Amstrad.
     

Share This Page

Loading...