Best settings for viewing Apple TV 3 and/or Apple TV 4K on NEC PlasmaSync 50MX3G via HDFury 3

phillipwj

Novice Member
Hi all

Apologies in advance from a total newbie to this site for asking questions that may have been answered a hundred times somewhere else, but...

...For years I've been trying to find a solid quality solution to bringing my beloved NEC PlasmaSync 50MX3G Monitor into the 21st Century, with more connectors than you can shake a stick at but no HDMI.

I finally grabbed myself a bargain price HDFury 3 the other day and I've set it up via the monitors Component YPbPr connectors with audio from the Fury audio output into my hifi (alas no cinema sound yet for this particular setup).

So far it's all apparently working well, though I still need to try a 3 hour film and see whether I get any audio dropouts like I used to with my old Logilink HDMI/Component connector.

My question is, can anyone offer any advice as to what would give me the very best video performance from this current setup, in terms of connection cable (eg would using RGB 15 pin VGA cable be better than the current Component, or indeed RGBHV through the 5x BGN connectors), settings on the Apple TV (it's currently set to 720p at 60Hz, which I think is the best the monitor can handle apart from 1080i, but the Apple TV 3 doesn't output that apparently), settings on the HD try 3 (currently I set it to only allow 1080i max via the dip switches, not 1080p) and settings on the monitor - (if anyone happens to be familiar with it, it's a behemoth industrial monitor usually meant for commercial video wall displays and has so many connectors and settings it's a bit of a mind bend working out which is the best to use, despite reading the user manual for days on end).