Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Best settings for Dscaler

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Alexg, Sep 14, 2005.

  1. Alexg

    Alexg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys,

    Setup as follows:-

    Sky Digibox fed into a Pinacle PCTV rave TV card, PC hooked to a Panasonic PWD7 Plasma.

    What are the best settings to use in Dscaler to get the optimum picture quality, I.E what Deinterlace to use etc.

    Many thanks,
    Alex.
     
  2. MikeTV

    MikeTV
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,782
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ealing, London
    Ratings:
    +842
    I haven't used it for a long time, however, from recollection my preferred settings were:

    greedy 2 frame (default settings)
    auto video/film detection
    automatic format detect
    fallback to video on bad pulldown

    Mike.
     
  3. MikeTV

    MikeTV
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,782
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ealing, London
    Ratings:
    +842
    ps. I may have used gradual noise reduction filter as well.
     
  4. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,209
    Leave it on auto detect. For video method uses tomsmocomp or greedy high motion (mocomp 2 has too many artifacts for me).

    Use judder terminator if your display refresh rate doesn't match the video.

    A little bit of sharpen filter can be useful if you have a large display.

    Run the auto-calibration routine with a suitable test pattern. (make sure you have the target boxes in the right areas with no overlaps).

    The latest version trashes my machine unfortunately ( first time in all the years I've been using it). I'm now currently on 4.1.7 beta for sweetspot but I might work my way up the later release versions.
    Then tweak the overlay settings for calibration if necessary.
     
  5. Alexg

    Alexg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice