Best scart to use?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by stevestarr13, Oct 23, 2004.

  1. stevestarr13

    stevestarr13
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aberdare
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am currently using a QED Squart scart from Sky+ box to my Sony Plasma, have tried changing all the settings on box/TV but I still get some vertical banding on the screen when it is a dark or poor broadcast picture. Without spending the earth is there a better scart that would increase picture quality/reduce banding
    thanks
    Steve

    and if so where can I get one online?
     
  2. gbmitie

    gbmitie
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    49
    Location:
    republic of ireland now
    Ratings:
    +61
  3. Only777

    Only777
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +124
    Amstrad box by any chance?
     
  4. stevestarr13

    stevestarr13
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aberdare
    Ratings:
    +1
  5. Only777

    Only777
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +124
    my first box was an Amstrad and it had those bars you describe, only visible at night.

    Switching to a Pace fixed it, and a few other faults.

    Time to give Sky a call...
     
  6. stevestarr13

    stevestarr13
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aberdare
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've already had two Amstrad boxes in one week and guy says there is no chance of a Pace, I have to take whatever comes, anyone had any success with demanding a Pace box?
     
  7. gbmitie

    gbmitie
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    49
    Location:
    republic of ireland now
    Ratings:
    +61
    just say u want to cancel the lot and see the result. U could then buy a box off ebay and go from there.

    I have never ever seen a good report on AMSTRAD anything. At least u did not waste ur time with other leads and more money. Apparently the best Sky + is the ver1 but hard to come by. I have read so many tales I am waiting and waiting. Maybe the new 160 box from Thompson will be the answer but until I hear more good things than bad I am waiting for HDTV 2006 and the world cup.

    gbitie
     
  8. Only777

    Only777
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +124
    I've heard Pace no longer, or at least are stopping making boxes and Sky aren't interested in giving people a choice. I was told that both boxes are the same inside when I asked ;) and that I could have a new Amstrad to replace my refurb Pace.

    Threatening to cancel sounds like a good start though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...