1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best scaler for the Panny TH-42PHW6?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Lizzard, Dec 28, 2004.

  1. Lizzard

    Lizzard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have decided to go for the Panny TH-42PHW6 and a suitable scaler to that.

    What is your recommendation?

    Should i go with the Lumagen or Iscan HD+?

    I need the audio delay feature.
     
  2. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    If you need the audio delay feature then you'd have to go for the Iscan Hd+ as the Lumagen doesn't have it :confused:
     
  3. raydundas@bluey

    raydundas@bluey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just had the Lumagen installed with a Pioneer 50MXE-1 fed with Sky and DVD and I have not had to alter the audio delay on my Denon 3805 to compensate, so the audio delay function is not always needed and most modern AV amps do offer it anyway (or I have heard that if your amp does not offer audio delay, you can set the distance of the centre speaker in the speaker setup, to create one) and the Lumagen seems to be regarded as having better picture performance by many
     
  4. Lizzard

    Lizzard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Too bad Lumagen lacks that feature. :(
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    I have a Lumagen...I have a Panasonic...my amp has no lip sync dealy feature....my wife doesn't comment about any lip sync issues with my system...

    This doesn't mean that there isn't a delay caused by video processing. It means that the discrepancy between audio and video is dependant on the devices used and how they are configured.

    The delay in the Iscan is a nice feature, if its required.

    Gordon
     
  6. sekrof

    sekrof
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have an older Panny (TH-42PWD3) and a new DVDO iScan HD+ - works like a dream for me, and the lip sync issue is killed dead, much to my delight ... friends were previously commenting all the time 'Oi, what's wrong with your sound?!' - the HD+ shut them up :)

    I have no experience of the Lumagen, and would have to defer to the expert ... "Gordon" ... :)
     
  7. Lizzard

    Lizzard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Another question about the Iscan HD+ is that i am wondering if i could like the Lumagens input a 720p/50 or even a 1080i/50 signal and then output it to the Panasonic panel as a 1024x768/60Hz signal?
     
  8. Lizzard

    Lizzard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Gordon, i know you like the Lumagens alot but what scaler would you think gives the best picture quality of all scalers you are selling if i want to connect it to a TH-42PHW6?
     
  9. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    I too have not found the need to use the audio delay feature on my amp as yet which was a concern at first as I wanted to drive two different display devices from my Lumagen which could have meant each needing their own specific delay.

    BTW Lizard...Gordon is the Lumagen distributor for the UK so he is unlikely to recommend another brand of scaler...not that he'd have any cause to do so anyway :devil:

    Cheers, Lee
     
  10. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    Yes I am not going to debate quality of other manufacturers products. Sorry

    Gordon
     
  11. sekrof

    sekrof
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not quite sure what you're asking here, you say " ...i am wondering if i could like the ...." ? Link? Love? Sleep with? :) ???
     
  12. Barend

    Barend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Just ordered one from Germany (Ebay) as the Dutch importer asked 1890 Euro's for it...duh!
    Germans were charging exactly the $ equivalent ánd took out the VAT, so only 981 Euro's for me...
    Will keep you guys posted on the results, main aim is improving the Sat receiver pic output (already yuv) and my Eternal Quest to produce a PAL picture on my Panny's dvi board...
    As Gordon stated before he could on the Lumagen, so I'm keeping my fingers crossed the Iscan will also!
    Otherwise you may see my unit reoffered on Ebay hehe...
    If you're interested in a nice US seller that's shipping anywhere try http://www.lenexpo-electronics.com
    He's including a FREE sdi module and throw in the odd cable too if you ask nicely...
    I'm trying without sdi first as the only diff with dvi seems the absence of hdcp checking...
    Barend
     
  13. Ultraviolet

    Ultraviolet
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    I ordered my IScan HD from LenExpo from the States and their service is excellent. They even refunded me $60 when I noticed the price on the website had fallen below that originally quoted!

    Neil
     
  14. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Lizzard, you are aware that the screen you have in mind is a euro imort aren't you. There is no intrinsic problem with this, as long as you know and it's cheap enough. I take it the price is under £2k, given the wholesale on these currently.
     
  15. Lizzard

    Lizzard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought about getting the 50" version at first but reckoned the 42" and a scaler would be great for the same price as the 50".
     
  16. Norman

    Norman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Herne Bay
    Ratings:
    +130
    I'm thinking about getting an an ISCAN HD+ for my Panny series 4 and obviously want the best deal.

    Can I ask how much import tax you had to pay when it came into the UK?

    Do you have the internet address of this German retailer?

    Thanks Guys
     
  17. Barend

    Barend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9

    Here you go:
    http://www.clausbuecheraudio.de/
    Better look for him on ebay.de though.
    In America (see earlier post) you'll get the sdi board for free, if you're interested. Only snag is the shipping's higher a bit": USD70 instead of EUR25.
    I'm still waiting for it, but I'm a company (no vat to pay).
    Anyway, from Germany you don't have to pay duties from Germany, VAT's included.
    Barend
     

Share This Page

Loading...