Best router for 20mb bb

Discussion in 'Virgin Media Broadband' started by furs307c, Sep 11, 2007.

  1. furs307c

    furs307c
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    429
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Hi can anyone tell me simply what is the best router to use for virgin 20mb bb
     
  2. RAINS

    RAINS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    I'm using and have been for 2 year a linksys with no problems.:smashin:
     
  3. Jayceef1

    Jayceef1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gravesend
    Ratings:
    +11
  4. AndySnapper

    AndySnapper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That Belkin N1 is quoted at being over £1200. If that's right I will have to pass this time :rolleyes:

    Andy
     
  5. AndySnapper

    AndySnapper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am also on Virgin 20Mb and bypassing my router (SMC7004ABR) I get the full whack of 20Mb mostly. Unfortunately the SMC is not capable of delivering more than 10Mb (confirmed by SMC).

    I am amazed how poor the information is out there on what DSL routers can support this speed effectively. The information on the boxes is equally dreadful and the PC World tech people, well I had better not go there :censored::thumbsdow

    I guess that I will have to go wireless now as that seems to be the fashion (even though I have no other need at all to do so).

    Is anyone else using a compatible router with Virgin Media 20Mb?

    Cheers!

    Andy
     
  6. bullfinch

    bullfinch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well I'm no expert but it seems to me you get 54Mbps routers and 108Mbps routers, and I would reckon for 20Mb the 108Mbps is the one to go for. But I may be wrong, perhaps someone could clarify?
     
  7. AndySnapper

    AndySnapper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply Bullfinch

    I think the 54mbps and 108mbps refer to the wireless transmission rate and is nothing to do (directly) with the isp's download throughput.

    The industry does have a knack of making things far more complicated than necessary.

    Andy
     
  8. ]|EGG|[

    ]|EGG|[
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dudley, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +4
    Out this month and the USD RRP is $200 and a UK RRP of £98 apparently, bit different from the £1200 quoted above!
     
  9. SGH42

    SGH42
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
  10. Ned Senior

    Ned Senior
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,818
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stalag 9
    Ratings:
    +1,170
  11. chris57

    chris57
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +157
  12. Jayceef1

    Jayceef1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gravesend
    Ratings:
    +11
  13. RoNaLdiNhO

    RoNaLdiNhO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Linksys WRT54GL is what i use, even better after you smack on a hacked firmware on it :p
     
  14. jryoung

    jryoung
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2000
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wiltshire,UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is vitally important to have a newish router with a 100mbps uplink speed to your Cable modem (which also needs to be fairly new). I had to get NTL to upgrade my router (which they now acknowledge on their web site), and then bought a new Netgear router, with Gigabit lan, and 100mbps uplink.

    Most older routers and cable modems have a 10mbps uplink. Many new routers still do.
     
  15. edenedits

    edenedits
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    im using a lynksis router and have been for quite a while now, i have had very bad experiences with various types of belkin hardware and would suggest staying away from that.
     
  16. Sooty

    Sooty
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Nott's
    Ratings:
    +0
  17. steery1

    steery1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    A different planet
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'll be having VM install TV, phone and BB to my house in a couple of weeks time. Can anyone tell me what modem the installer should fit in order for me to be able to receive the full up to 20Mb speed? :)
    I've heard tales of the installers not fitting the correct modem thus preventing customers from achieving the best speed possible. Also when some customers have upgraded to the 20Mb service from a slower one their modem could not process the full speed.
    I'd like to check when its being fitted that its the proper one so I dont have to spend ages with CS asking them to send out a new modem. :)
    I'll also have to buy one of the routers recommended in this thread for my network. :smashin:
     
  18. essdee

    essdee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    I would expect you to get an Virgin Media 255 (made by Ambit). I have a 250 which is pretty much the same apart from the branding and the 255 only has ethernet (no USB). Data sheet for the 255 here. A 200 may also be ok, however don't accept a 100 or 120. Unlikely you would get one of these anyway, but you never know.


    I also use a Linksys WRT54G with DD-WRT firmware and can get up to about 16Mb wireless and get over 19Mb when hard-wired.

    Hope this helps.
     
  19. steery1

    steery1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    A different planet
    Ratings:
    +2
    Nice one essdee, thanks. I'll keep an eye out for it. :thumbsup:
     
  20. DarkEntity

    DarkEntity
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,584
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +606
    There is no "Best" router. D-Link, Netgear, Linksys and a few others are probably the most well known names on the market. Get one that is Wirelss and supports the "N" standard and one that has Gigabit LAN as if its a new PC itll probably have gigabit ports.

    Other than that look for one that suits your needs. If you want robust reliable go for one of the above (although ive had nothing but problems with Netgear others love them) Ive got a D-Link Di624 which atm is doing great (although will be getting replaced with a gigabit and N class wireless model soon.
     
  21. tonyk79

    tonyk79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +192
    I have a Linksys WRT300n Router and it acheives the maximum download speed from Virgin. I have it running two PC's , 1 HP Laserjet printer and 1 Xbox 360 via cat 5 cabling and another Xbox 360 and Laptop via Wireless.

    Granted most of this does not run at the same time but I can not fault the router or the bundled Wireless card (300mb Laptop card). Below is a link for, in the UK it is a silver and black colour as opposed to the picture shown and is a Version 2.0 which had firmwire updates.

    http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Sate...513404&pagename=Linksys/Common/VisitorWrapper
     
  22. chumley1

    chumley1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a motorola SB5101E modem (you might have to ask for it as they may give you a telstar or something similar, which in my view are no comparison) along with a Belkin 2.4ghz wireless router (allows for both wired and wireless connections) WEP security. Keeps everything steady. This is not all you have to check on.

    It also depends 'where you are in relation to the cable. What I mean by this is .... in my case we are at the end of the cable on my street, noone else after our house, the end of the line so to speak. This means as the signal is brought up, there are alot of people between us and the main cable point down the road, thus putting us at the wrong end of a drain on the strength of connection. Imagine a hose connected to the tap (main connection) and you are at the spout end. Now everybody between you and the tap is a hole in the hose. Your strength at your end of the hose diminishes.

    I managed to get a decent engineer so instead of just one cable connecting my house we have 2 cables coming in to help with the connection upkeep :smashin:

    Hope this helps
     
  23. TimeLord

    TimeLord
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +53
    i have the D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Router.

    id give it a 9/10. when vm is running as it should i get some great speeds :thumbsup:


    [​IMG]
     
  24. SGH42

    SGH42
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Anyone bought a Belkin N1 Vision yet ? I'm on the brink !

    Cheers
    Steve
     
  25. Jayceef1

    Jayceef1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gravesend
    Ratings:
    +11
    I have a Belkin N1 Vision. works a dream (so far, only had it a week) and get around 19Mbs when the connection is maxed out.:thumbsup:
     
  26. SGH42

    SGH42
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
  27. bradfitt

    bradfitt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the belkin also. Not only does it work great it looks great as well. Downfall is I can't help playing with the display got to keep touching those buttons hope the fad wears off soon.
     
  28. DarkEntity

    DarkEntity
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,584
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +606
  29. guvvie

    guvvie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +134

    Have you managed to connect the 360 wirelessly to your wrt300n using the newest 2.0.20 firmware???
     
  30. sotonjoe

    sotonjoe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    611
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +40
    I'm completely confused now.

    I've purchased a dlink router kit dkt-110 which contains a dir-301 router to use with my 20mb connection. However, I can't for the life of me find whether it is able to support a connection up to 20mb. The only data I can find is with regards to it's wireless data transfer rate across a network which is 54mbps.

    I'm a little concerned that it is only designed for use with slower questions so I've emailed dlink for confirmation. Is there anyway i can test the router to find out myself? Or perhaps somebody might just happen to know!?!?!?

    The weird things is that when you look at the specs for some routers they boast about their ability to handle faster internet connections up to 24mbps etc so a failure to include any info on my router's spec makes me think that it might only support up to 8mbps etc.

    Any help / advice greatly appreciated!
     

Share This Page

Loading...