Best RGB to plasma vga converter

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by candg, May 1, 2004.

  1. candg

    candg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Panasonic series 5 ,42 " Plasma screen


    I need to be able to use the VGA input for an RGB Sky Plus connection.

    I am totally confused by some of the postings on this subject.

    Which is the best (and most reasonable) way to achieve this..is it the JS tecnologies converter, the Keene Syncblaster, or something else ?

    Any help would be appreciated

    Many thanks

    Graham
     
  2. rscott4563

    rscott4563
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,054
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1
    JS tecnologies converter :smashin:
     
  3. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
    What Ryan said!:smoke:

    Steve
     
  4. forrestgump

    forrestgump
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    1,428
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +49
    just done the same myself but decided to try the lektropacks converter which is a lot cheaper than JS, good thing is if you do not like it send it back within 7 days for a refund, happily I have connected my sky box via rgb scart to converter to 3 phono to vga and it looks a lot better than via scart only, money well spent in my opinion
     
  5. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    If you wan the best, JS
     
  6. stormjai

    stormjai
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bromley
    Ratings:
    +3
    does js converter still allow aspect ratio switching (ie widescreen to full screen )from sky+

    thanks
     
  7. CARLOS

    CARLOS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    6,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    WEST MIDLANDS
    Ratings:
    +1,425
    No, You would need a Aspect ratio controller as per Powerbuys forum !

    Another vote for the JS unit :smashin:
     
  8. forrestgump

    forrestgump
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    1,428
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +49
    guys, you are all voting for the JS unit, has anyone tried any competitors product, if not how do you know Dr Simms is better? I suppose if the Beekeeeper endorses it it must be the dogs b...ocks
     
  9. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    I have tried several of these 'boxes' and the JS SVideo / RGB box and the RGB / VGA were the best I have seen by some way. Just bought a RGB to component second hand JS to try, just need to borrow a RGB SCART player again. Never tries his SCART switcherbut most of you know what I think of SCARTS :) All of JS stuff just seems to be quality in plain boxes. This guy both knows what he is doing and doesn't make unnecessary compromises in quality. He is one smart cookie in my book.
     
  10. cheeseburger

    cheeseburger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use a QED Q sync scart to VGA and find the Sky picture is pin sharp.

    Years ago people said the earth was flat!
     
  11. candg

    candg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the feedback guys,,,looks like the JS tech thing then.

    Now all I need to be able to do is make my own RGB lead up. Out of necessity I have to use 10 core AV lead from Maplins as this is the only diameter lead that will fit through existing floor conduit. The lead has to be about 25 metres long to get from one room into the AV room. Can anyone suggest how I can get the Scart pin configurations to make my lead. Also what is the miniumum number of connections on the scart an for RGB to RGB only lead. I do not require Composite or audio to be fed through.

    Many thanks

    Graham
     
  12. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    Graham:
    SCART pin-out is on my website - in the Technical section.

    We've had many customers trying out alternative solutions, all of them. Because we're using broadcast quality components, and a unique computer enhancements, when the action starts to get frantic on screen, my design is still able to lock to the picture. It also allows you to choose the best quality leads both for input and output. I personally use a Bettercables VGA lead, and quite frankly it really is an amazing lead.

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     
  13. candg

    candg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your comments John. I have been trying to access your website for a while ...it appears to always be unavailable. Any ideas ?

    Graham
     
  14. candg

    candg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have found your website..but no link to a technical section for the scart pin connedtions. Maybe you could advise me on my problem before I buy the RGB to vga box.

    The converter box needs to be about 6 metres from the screen..due to installation problems. I am currently using a bog standard vga lead from Maplins as a PC input..the results are surprisingy good.

    The rgb input of the box will have to be via a custom made rgb only lead..this has to be as thin as possible to fit it through an existing underfloor conduit I think the maximum thickness could be about 6mm..this is where I have the problem.

    The reason that the lead is so long is due to the fact that Tivo and Sky plus are in a different room (this has to be the case as tivo is supplying an all house wired AV connection.

    I have soldering skills and could easily solder one scart plug on the end of the lead. How many pins would need soldering for RGB ? Ideally I would like to get a custom made rgb only lead with one end soldered and one end free for me to solder after the lead has been passed through the conduit. ..in the perfect world this lead would also carry a digital coaxial audio connection to run the digital audio output of the Sky plus into the other room and into the second AV amp. Any suggestions ?

    Thanks again

    Graham
     
  15. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice