Best remote for MCE

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Stereo Steve, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,939
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    I've got a Vista PC running MCE as a PVR at the mo and would like to stick a load of MP3's, FLAC etc. tunes on there and use it as a music server inot my amp. The problem is that I don't want to have to turn the telly on every time I want to play a tune.

    Is there a remote with a good colour screen which will represent what I get on the TV with MCE and allow me to have full usability without turning the telly on?
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Yes, Philips TSU9400/9600. In fact universal's Nevo does it too, but they are totally awful in every measurable way, I'd avoid them if I were you.
     
  3. wywywywy

    wywywywy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,097
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +68
    Why does everyone say the same thing?
    What exactly is the problem?
    (I have no experience with Nevo)

    Thanks.
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    I do have experience of nevo, it's unreliable, wi fi is probematic, support is naff, the network extenders are a pain to get working, the software is clunky compared to pronto edit. Anything else you'd like to know?
     
  5. wywywywy

    wywywywy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,097
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +68
    Errr yes just one more thing!
    Does it support Unicode in its MCE menus?
    Because I've got a lot of Chinese/Japanese/Korean music & movies, and the 9600 doesn't support Unicode.

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...