1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best RELIABLE place to get a RU950?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Mr Bump, Oct 14, 2003.

  1. Mr Bump

    Mr Bump
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    NexNix have them for £179+VAT. Are these guys reliable? Is there anywhere that does a better price than this? TIA
     
  2. mortonman

    mortonman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ordered 950 and docking station from Nexnix on Thursday and it arrived Monday night all Ok and good price.

    Matt
     
  3. Mr Bump

    Mr Bump
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    How do you like it so far?
     
  4. mortonman

    mortonman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    with having 2 small kids as well I havent had much time to sort it out but on the face of it looks great and the programming doesnt look that hard.

    I would recommend the docking station though as it will make it easier to programme and help on the power !
     
  5. Mr Bump

    Mr Bump
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yeah, I had considered one. 'Nother fifty quid though....:suicide:
     
  6. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    You really need the docking station with the RU950... It uses AAA batteries which don't last that long...
     
  7. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    You really need the docking station with the RU950... It uses AAA batteries which don't last that long...
     
  8. Zor

    Zor
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did not buy the docking station. I used the mod over at Remote Central.

    I have no complaints about battery life. I am running firmware 2.3.9

    I use 800 mAh NiMH. ₤12 for 2 sets. Already had a charger. Didn't fancy getting stung for another Philips battery sometime in the future.

    Will post a pic if you are interested.
     
  9. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    Yeah, please post pic... Cheers
     
  10. smallman28

    smallman28
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also used the battery mod on the Remote Central site till my dock arrived until I started having problems.
    I dont know if this mod had anything to do with it but when the batteries started to get low it was plagued by the double sending commands situation,I put ordinary batteries in again and it was fine and now I have no problems at all with the dock.
    Looking at the remote earlier today I have now notice the peeling paint syndrome described on the RC website review,it is around the area when the USB cable goes and I first thought it was caused by contact with the docking station but on closer inspection I have also noticed a similar state of affairs up the one side of the remote.
    Luckily at the moment it isnt too bad but if it gets worse I may well totally remove the coating as the plastic underneath is a very similar colour,the only problem then is you will loose the writing on the side for the contrast button and the + & - markings on the one side.
     
  11. Zor

    Zor
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here is the battery mod. I have had no issues with this mod. As mentioned above I am running the latest firmware. I got the plug off a cdrom sound cable. Another plus is no warranty issues it can all be simply removed without a trace.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  12. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    Thanks Zor... Tidy job..!
     

Share This Page

Loading...