Question Best projector for both games and movies?

tkm16

Novice Member
Hi all,

First off, I'm a complete novice in the world of projectors (this being my first one) so go easy! :)

I'm looking for a projector best suited to both watching movies and playing games (pc) if there is such a thing. I have been searching online/reading reviews etc of what seems like hundreds of projectors and I have only come across a few which may be suitable, but they all seem to have their own flaws in one way or another.
The room which it will be going in is currently awaiting re-skimming then the surrounding walls/ceiling I was going to paint black and install a total blackout blind across the rear window so the room will have almost no external light entering the room.
I was initially going to project straight onto a painted white wall but I have recently read a screen may be better than a treated wall? The plasterer knows the surface if going to be used as a screen so I would hope imperfections will be minimal, and I was going to use a screen paint.
The projection area is between 90-100 inch depending on how close to the wall I go with the seating area around 4 meters away. Initially I looked for a true 4K projector which was both good for movies and games but then realised it was beyond my budget.

Specs required include:

4K (or upscaled by a technology) @60hz/1080P 60hz+
low input lag
3D compatible
low-ish noise levels

The projector can be mounted on the ceiling or on a cabinet close to the screen

So far I've looked at the following:

Epson EH-TW9400
Optima UHD42
Espon LS-500B

Anyone got any other suggestions? I'd like to keep the price below £3k if possible...

Thanks!:D

noob0101

Hi all,

First off, I'm a complete novice in the world of projectors (this being my first one) so go easy! :)