Best projector for an art student?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by greengloves, Dec 27, 2011.

1. greengloves

greengloves
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello! I need a bit of help buying my first projector, as the thing I'll be using it for doesn't turn up much in reviews. I'm an art student, and I make videos (shot on a canon 500d in 1080p, with some text too, and I'll be using a macbook pro with the projector, if any of that is vital information - the more you know, etc etc..) that I'd like to project in a gallery environment. Ideally this means a white room with a fair bit of ambient light, though if I can't find something bright enough in my price bracket, which is <£400, then that's not the end of the world, I can just put up blackout curtains. It'd be nice to have the bright-white-room option, though. Up until now i've been borrowing projectors from my university, so I'm not a complete novice in terms of setting them up and so on.

I've been looking at the Optoma HD600X-LV, as it's the right price and appears to be suitably portable (portability is important, 'bring your own beamer' shows are a pain in the arse if you're lugging around something massive) and bright, but I don't need the 3D compatibility - can I pay the same amount and get more elsewhere if I forgo the 3D stuff? I'm open to any and all advice I can get! Recommendations of actual bricks-and-mortar shops in or around London (or Newcastle upon Tyne) where I can go to get a feel for the things would be great, too.

Thanks, in advance!

Last edited: Dec 27, 2011
  2. willieturnip

willieturnip
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    HD600X's are solid projectors in that price range.