1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best Plasma/lcd For Xbox

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by hustler, Sep 9, 2004.

  1. hustler

    hustler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    anyone ?
     
  2. Leigh_1973

    Leigh_1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    An idea of how much you want to spend and what sort of size your looking at would be useful
     
  3. thebigkung

    thebigkung
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Depends on how you want to run your XBOX?

    A straight Pal XBOX will only output 'Pal' size quality which will look pretty much the same on most screens, (smaller ones may appear sharper) depending on the connection, eg composite, S, RF, etc

    If you modd it and get a Hi definition kit and run US games on it then there are options, depending on the game to run at 480p, 720p and 1080i. So if you want to run at the higher res then you'll need a screen that will take those signals.

    I'm in the process of hooking my XBOX to my Pio PDP-434 42" plasma, I'll post how good the picture is when the HD leads arrive in the next week.
     
  4. rubberducker

    rubberducker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    i would really be interested in seeing the difference, as i am thinking about a similar set up.. so please do~!!! :smoke:
     
  5. hustler

    hustler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    37"-42" looking to spend 2-2.5k
     
  6. jwramsay

    jwramsay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West of Scotland
    Ratings:
    +70
    Not sure that you need to run US games. If you change your (chipped) XBOX to output NTSC (forget the small program that does it, but I've burned it onto a CD-RW and changed my XBOX to output NTSC) it should work with the M/S Hi-Def Kit.

    Where are you ordering yours from? I'm thinking of getting one from DVDBOXOFFICE for 16 quid delivered.

    Pio-434 comes tomorrow courtesy of John Lewis.
     
  7. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
  8. thebigkung

    thebigkung
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    PDP-434HDE,

    I'm sure the PAL games will work but I don't think they're programmed for HD output. Only games programmed for HD output will work in HD, including US ones.

    To find out what resolutions a game supports use this website.
    http://www.hdtvpub.com/productdb/games/index.cfm?platform=xbox

    I'm getting my lead from www.mx2.co.uk - unfortunatly its more expensive than dvdboxoffice, but I found out too late. :thumbsdow :D
     
  9. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    I'd check out the Panasonic PW6 also, better for blacks on alot of games [ www.av-sales.com have a fantastic offer at the moment]. Here is a picture of SSX3 on Xbox :D

    [​IMG]

    Neil.
     

Share This Page

Loading...