Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Best Plasma for £1500-2000

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by gpm02, Nov 25, 2004.

  1. gpm02

    gpm02
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Excuse me if this has been asked before but as prices are dropping and new models are on the way out or out, what is the opinion of this forum.
     
  2. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +108
    The Panasonic PW6 is a favourite on the forum and can be had within your price range.

    John
     
  3. 888

    888
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. gpm02

    gpm02
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry people i mean 1500-2500, so that might make a difference ?
     
  5. Todda

    Todda
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would say PW7, MXE1 or PHD7.

    If it doesn't matter which end of your budget you use, I would go for the PHD7.
     
  6. MuffKing

    MuffKing
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess it depends on whether you want a monitor or a TV, but either way it's lightly to be a Panasonic if you want a good one. I know where you can get the VIERA 42PE30 for £2200 on a pedestal if that's any help, in fact i'm selling my PA20 to buy one.
     
  7. Yorkieblade

    Yorkieblade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got a fair deal I think - Hitatchi 42pd5300 inc 3 years warranty + wall brkt + delivery + fitting - 2250 quid. + buy now pay in 12 months , basically 12 int free credit.
    Great picture - very good on DVD via component leads , has a seperate media box - so everything connects into that.
    It has 1024 x 1024 res - PC looks fantastic through - plugs in dead easy into VGA socket on media box . Sky looks great through RGB scart.
    The speakers that come with the 5300 are great - you get good low level bass and crisp clear treble also - good surround sound option in them also - sounds great - without my Denon 1905 s/w on !!!
    Prob not as good as the panny or pio on there major attributes but overrall value for money screen comes out no.1 in most what/which plasma/home cinema mags!!!

    Yorkie
     
  8. Pill Fairy

    Pill Fairy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had my Panny PW6 for 7 weeks, never regretted buying it. To sum it up in one word - FANTASTIC! :clap:
     
  9. DeanL

    DeanL
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yorkieblade

    where did you get your deal with the 5300?

    Many Thanks

    Dean
     
  10. lidders

    lidders
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    beverley
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gotta 2nd what Pill Fairy says.......


    also got mt pw6 about 5 weeks ago it's superb!!


    LIDDERS :D
     
  11. paulfd

    paulfd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Luton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ditto. Brought from AV-Sales who I can't recommend highly enough. If you can, pay them a visit and have a look for yourself. :smashin:
     
  12. matt bellamy

    matt bellamy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been considering buying either a pw6 or pw7 but just read that there may be a problem with pw7 if using s-video (which is how I will connect my amp to the screen). Have you noticed any problem with the pw6 when connected with s-video?
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
  14. brackenlamb

    brackenlamb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    421
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    had my viera a couple of weeks ,best tv i could get.
     
  15. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I was very impressed at the sort of sound you could get from the slim speakers on the Hitachi 5300.
     
  16. t0by

    t0by
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Matt, do you have any information about this possible problem with s-video on the pw7?
     
  17. LB1

    LB1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Yorkieblade - I'm thinking about the 42pd5300 and that sounds like a good deal - could you let me know where you got this from?

    ps - do you know if this screen is HD compatible e.g. for the Sky broadcasts that are supposed to be launched next year?

    Thanks

    Luke
     
  18. aetbaar

    aetbaar
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    interested to know where you can get the viera at this price
     
  19. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +108
    LB1,

    The 5300 can't accept a hi def signal - the 5200 (same panel as the 5300 but without the tuner box) can.

    Having said that, it will accept a 1920*1080 resolution signal from a PC via the VGA port - I tried this the other night with some WM9 HiDef clips and they looked stunning.

    John
     
  20. lintonmac

    lintonmac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Johndon

    >Having said that, it will accept a 1920*1080 resolution signal from a PC via the VGA port

    I did not notice this option in the manual, but tried it using my Powerbook, and it did seem to work. I think though it's stretching my 4 year old machine a bit as I had to lower the number of colours on my LCD screen to get it to work, and I did see some artifacts.

    Have you any experience with what setting works best from a PC for playing DVD's? I am currently only using a VGA connection. Do you also know if I really need to mess around with the frequency in my display settings, or does it just basically do all this automatically?

    Also do you know why it seems to offer lower resolutions via DVI input than VGA?

    Sorry to ask the questions, but I can always hope someone has been there before me!

    Ian
     
  21. Bonzodogdick

    Bonzodogdick
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cloud 9
    Ratings:
    +0

    YEP ME TOO! This is the very set Im considering as a way into the benefits of Home Cinema Heaven. Please enlighten us with this deal. :lease:
     
  22. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +108
    Ian,

    I don't normally use the PC with the Hitachi for playing DVD's so I've never really had a good play with the settings. I've haven't played with the freqencies either, just set the PC to 1920*1080 (30hz interlaced) and the plamsa did the rest - only problem wuth this was that the picture was offset to the left by about half an inch but I guess this could be fixed with some fiddling.

    John
     
  23. mike ormond

    mike ormond
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    got one last week, brilliant. Got one question for someone - the digital zoom jumps sometimes, that is getting slightly bigger, I think it came when I was playing with the zoom, any help would be great. :lease:
     
  24. lintonmac

    lintonmac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Johndon

    Thanks for that. In answer to:

    >the picture was offset to the left by about half an inch but I guess this could be fixed with some fiddling.

    I have found that simply choosing Setup from the menu, then the first option of Adjust - does these things every time. Hope that helps.

    Ian
     
  25. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +108
    Thanks for that Ian, I'll give it a try.

    John
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice