1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best place to buy modded XBox

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by klnc, Jun 25, 2003.

  1. klnc

    klnc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    361
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +22
    Says it all really.... Been looking at Premodded.co.uk... Quote £170. Do people have any experience of this outfit or have any other recommendations.

    On a similiar vein, apart from having the possibility of having multiple BIOS and the external printer port access, is there any difference between the X-Ecuter Lite and Pro. And are there any probs with putting a larger hard disk in the unit - eg over heating etc... Do people go for the biggest available?

    Apologies if this is a stoopid question - first time I;ve ventured out of the AV type forums, so grateful for any help

    Ta.
     
  2. Willy

    Willy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    466
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you buy a normal Xbox you can get it modded by Saurian, who is based in Kilburn. You can find him on the forums at www.ntsc-uk.com. Alternatively, Yod@ at the rllmuk.com forums is supposed to be very good - check out the trading folder on there.

    Both these guys should be able to advise you with the other questions you had.
     
  3. Jason S

    Jason S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've used modconsole.co.uk in the past, as have a few friends and they seem to be happy with the service.

    £170 seems reasonable considering the cost of an X-Box, mod chip and the hassle of fitting it then setting it up. Easy once you've done a few, but potentially :suicide:

    Difference between the chips is essentially multi bios, I've not seen the need for it myself, but you may wish to switch between the linux bios & the xbox bios (executer etc), different versions etc

    Hard Drives - I've a 120Gb Maxtor (£91) drive in mine and heat is not a problem. Get the biggest you can afford, as you'll easily fill it up, especially if you opt for the emulators, and you'll only regret it if you don't.
     
  4. De|ta

    De|ta
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the xbox can only address 137gb of HD space. So if you buy a 160GB, u can only use upto 137gb of it. Dont buy anythhing bigger, theres really no point.

    X2 lite or pro. Basically, if you have to ask - u want the lite. Get the lite

    i buy all my chips from here:

    http://www.baldbouncer.co.uk/xbox.htm

    he does premods as well, sound as a pound :)
     
  5. Ono

    Ono
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +110
    premodded are fine.

    Trustworthy and great service.
     
  6. UncagedTyphoon

    UncagedTyphoon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    City Street having it Large Essex
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have used goldberg-mods.com or.co.uk
    very good very helful and fast process
     
  7. holtehero

    holtehero
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +1,786
    Premodded are excellent, bought a special editition xbox with 40gb hard drive, arrived two days later

    If you ask he will even put arcade emulators on the hard disk for free
     
  8. klnc

    klnc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    361
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +22
    thanks for the responses guys... premodded's website seems to have been down for the last few days.

    Think will get one on the highstreet to get to grips with it first (can always take it back if i don't like it) and get a decent games bundle, then get it modded in due course. Been some time since I owned a games console, so need to ease myself back into it gently i think!
     
  9. Paden

    Paden
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2000
    Messages:
    554
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    Once you've had your box moded, do you still require a dongle to play DVD's.
    Is there such a thing as a multiregion dongle?

    Cheers, Paul
     
  10. peasoup

    peasoup
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    no u dont need a dongle...itll play any region
     
  11. Paden

    Paden
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2000
    Messages:
    554
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    & do you navigate via the contoller rather than a remote?

    Cheers, Paul
     
  12. Dean

    Dean
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,704
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +190

Share This Page

Loading...