Best PJ in the £500-£750 price range

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Powelly131, Jan 18, 2008.

1. Powelly131

Powelly131

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi All,
    Just about to embark on converting the garage into a home cinema room/play room. The finished room will be about 5 x 3 metres, with a large window and a low wall built to fill in the hole left by the existing up and over door. I'm going to have a plasma screen and pull down projector screen at the window end, and ceiling mount the projector. I have no experience whatsoever with PJ's and was wondering what the general consensus was regarding the best screens and PJ's within a budget of £500 - £750 for the two. I don't really want anything too flash, as I have to get a new amp, dvd, plasma, speakers and cables as well :rolleyes:, so I was hoping to get a budget setup to get me on my way!!
    I will post some pics of the conversion once we are underway, hoping to start in the next couple of weeks, as soon as the builder can start.
    Thanks in advance :)

PS The screen to PJ distance can be anything up to 4 metres
    Thanks again

2. inzaman

inzaman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,073
    Hi i have moved this to Pjs for you as the initial question is about the PJ. Once you start the build please feel free to create a thread back in the DIY section :)

3. pragmatic

pragmatic

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,647
    HD65 seems the stock answer for that price and is at the bottom of your range, you'd have to pay quite a bit more for something significantly better, leaves extra money for a screen though.

4. aventhusiast

aventhusiast

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +16
    I can't compare against any others but I picked up a hd70 for £550 from PC World & would thoroughly recommend it. (& I'm a real fussy git which says alot about this pj)

5. ollielou

ollielou