Best picture source ?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by CrispyToast, Aug 4, 2006.

  1. CrispyToast

    CrispyToast
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Llantrisant
    Ratings:
    +13
    Got my new TV (plasma) this morning and have connected it up using the standard HDMI connector. Did not have much time to play with it this morning, but thought the picture was a bit poor from any of the HD channels, lack of blacks etc. I then connected up my DVD (SD recorder) using component leads with the Sky HD feeding it though a scart. The Sky box was showing sky sports HD and though the DVD looked better in terms of colour and black levels although detail was down.

    So I am now wondering if a component connection would be better than HDMI between the SKY HD box and the TV or should I get a better HDMI lead.

    What have people found produces the best picture Component or HDMI?

    Cheers
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Theoretically HDMI should be better, but a lot depends on the design of the circuitry in the display. If component looks better on your display, use component. "Whatever floats your boat" :) My plasma doesn't have HDMI, and the component doesn't support 50Hz, so I'm using a HDMI/VGA converter - it works well.
     
  3. wingerii

    wingerii
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chances are that you were watching a non-HD programme on an HD channel. Lots of Sky Sports HD channel progs are in SD at the moment. If you watch the cricket, then you'll get HD.

    Have a look at Nat Geo, much more likely to be HD.

    HDMI should be the best option everytime. Also, for a small length cable, cable quality is unlikely to make a difference to HDMI quality. Generally, because it carries a digital signal, it will either work or it won't. And any problems will result in digital artifacts rather than any impact on picture sharpness.
     
  4. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,787
    I am a bit confused by that statement.

    It reads (to me) like you are saying you were connecting the Sky HD box to your DVD via Scart, and then connecting the DVD to the display via component, then watching Sky HD passed through the DVD recorder.

    You realise that this will not give you an HD picture from Sky connected this way? Or am I misunderstanding you.
     
  5. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,787
    Or simply the BBC HD Preview. That surely has to be the obvious test/demo/benchmark. If that doesn't look like HD then something is simply wrong somewhere.
     
  6. CrispyToast

    CrispyToast
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Llantrisant
    Ratings:
    +13


    You are correct that is how it was connected, but also the sky box was connected directly to the TV using HDMI, so by flicking between AV4 and HDMI1 on the TV I could compare the picture from the sky box (it just happened to be on a HD channel at the time) and colours not DETAIL were better from the DVD input.
    I will try out some more options when I get home tonight.
    Thank for the replies.
     
  7. fid

    fid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    600
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wigan
    Ratings:
    +37
    have you checked what resolution to sky hd box has been set to?

    try 1080i or 720p ... that should give you a better picture via the hdmi
     
  8. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,787
    What display is it btw?

    Note that many displays store different settings for each input type.
    I would not expect the colour to be exactly the same on HDMI and component. After all they are 2 different signal types, and one is analog and the other digital.

    If you are satisfied that the HD detail is coming through on HDMI, then it sounds like a simple matter of perhaps changing the colour and/or contrast settings for the HDMI input on your display so that match your preferences.
     
  9. Ultra2man

    Ultra2man
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,147
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +265
    Absolutely agree with this.
    I have both my DVD and Sky connected by HDMI going in to one port via a switching box. There is a vast difference between the two and so have had to make two different pic settings, one for Sky and one for DVD.
     
  10. sr1312

    sr1312
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    Me too. The default contrast/brightness settings are normally terrible.
     
  11. CrispyToast

    CrispyToast
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Llantrisant
    Ratings:
    +13
    Ok had a chance to play around.
    Screen is a Hitachi 42PD9700
    Whan viewing SKY HD through a component cable the blacks were far better and colours were also improved and matched the output from my DVD also using component. HDMI looks washed out in comparason. Detail is the same from both connectors. The TV is set to the same settings on all channels and as it is new and a plasma I have it set to the recomended run in settings.
    I will use component from now on with my Sky HD box.
    Thanks for the replys
     
  12. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,787
    Then why not change it so that each input is individually optimsed? :confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...