1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best PC TV/video capture card?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by ReTrO, Apr 15, 2002.

  1. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    What is the best PC TV tuner/video capture card?

    I need one with an s-video input for auxiluary useage, main use to be a TV tuner for my HC. The video capture will be from old VHS tapes. Preferbaly d-scaler compatible.

    Cheer guys!
     
  2. laurel

    laurel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Retro

    I have both a Pinnacle Studio PCTV and Hauppage WIN TV PCI.

    Overall the Hauppage card wins both on quality (IMO) and driver support.

    Both have S-Vid inputs.

    Both work with DScaler no problems (after some initial tweaking!).

    Cheers

    Laurel
     
  3. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Laurel:

    Thanks

    I maybe looking at the new Hauppauge WinTV Nova-T DVB-T card it's £100ish, so on the edge of my budget. I hope it can support dScaler.

    Otherwise its the analogue Nicam Hauppauge card for me.

    Cheers!
     
  4. laurel

    laurel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not checked out the Nova yet myself.

    Just makes sure it has the bt848/878/879 chipset and it should be fine.

    Cheers

    Laurel
     
  5. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    You might want to look out for one of the new CX23881 based cards. The chip is compatible with the bt878a so cards that use it should be DScaler compatible. I have high hopes for it.

    Jeff
     
  6. laurel

    laurel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds good, do you know which cards?

    Anyone fancy being the Guinea-pig? ReTro? :D
     
  7. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
  8. Hoglet

    Hoglet
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Ratings:
    +11
    The Hauppauge Nova-T is *not* currently compatible with DScaler :(

    I believe the lead DScaler developers is UK based and is a forum member here (JohnAd). In the DScaler forums he has mentioned that he is working on adding support for this card, but it may not be until after dscaler 4.0 is released.

    See this link:
    http://www.dscaler.org/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=23&highlight=nova+t

    I do think this type of card is the way to go in the future. It's the only way you can get true wide-screen TV on a PC in the UK. Looks great on an AE100, even with the crappy JavaScript based technotrend software.

    --- Dave
     
  9. JohnAd

    JohnAd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Just a couple of things

    CX23881 isn't directly compatable withe the bt848 however it is similar and the developers at connexant have got a version of Dscaler running with the chip that they use at demos, they have promised to let us have the code when the cards come out but there will be a bit of lag before the code is integrated properly.

    The Nova-T ought the be good card but is let down by software. I've never had much luck getting a glitch free picture with mine. It is probably not worth getting this card compatible with DScaler as there just isn't the grunt for good playback however it may be worth getting it working with the DShow filters. I'll be playing with this stuff more once I've got my building work finished and the pj installed. The few tests I've done with the card seem to show that the mpeg is flagged fairly well so as long as we can get the radeon to do its stuff then we should be getting pretty good quality with this card.

    JOhn
     
  10. laurel

    laurel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that John.

    You might just have saved me a few quid there. I was looking to get a Nova T, but I'll now probably stick with the old Hauppage card and look maybe at hooking up the new FTA Pace DTV box.

    Cheers

    Laurel
     
  11. JohnAd

    JohnAd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    The specs for that say it has svideo out which would be nice with a TV card and Dscaler.....

    If you get one could you let us know what it does in fact output.

    Ta

    John
     
  12. laurel

    laurel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey John

    Your read my mind... :)

    As far as I know the specs are right.

    There is another thread Here
    Nick Bull had a unit.

    I am building up to a possible purchase this weekend, in which case I'll confirm for sure on the retail units.

    Cheers

    Laurel
     
  13. laurel

    laurel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ReTro

    Sorry to hijack the thread there, but this is all good stuff.

    We even got to speak with the John the Dscaler guy!

    If I were you I'd get the old Hauppage for now.

    Cheers

    Laurel
     
  14. NickBull

    NickBull
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It does have Svideo out, but it has a hard wired scart lead, so an adaptor and a Scart to Svideo/2 phono lead would be needed.

    I didn't actually try the Svideo output, but there is a menu option to set it on. I've been trying to get the box back for good, but Liz (who works at pace) says that all the test ones have had to go out as there's a bit of a shortage.

    As soon as I can I think I'll be getting one with the staff discount she will hopefully get!
     
  15. laurel

    laurel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Nick

    That may mean I wouldn't be able to walk away with one this weekend then? :(

    Any chance of extending the staff discount to two units? One for you and one for me? :D

    Cheers

    Laurel
     
  16. JohnAd

    JohnAd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    I just remeber the situation with my original philips box. That was supposed to have svideo out and had the menu option for it but whenyou tried to use it it didn't work. maybe they have it sorted by now though :rolleyes:

    John
     
  17. laurel

    laurel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope so, otherwise I think it would be going back!

    Laurel
     
  18. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Looks like I'll go for the older Hauppauge card for now then. I'm thinking of adding the Pace DTVA-UK soon anyway.

    Got my new Iiyama 1451 19"er today, running it off a Cheese Box (worlds worst line-doubler), from s-video from my DVD player. Awful picture, just need to get my new PC madeup.

    Just need my case.
     

Share This Page

Loading...