1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best output cable for Xbox and GameCube?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Grand Dizzy, Dec 17, 2004.

  1. Grand Dizzy

    Grand Dizzy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    I want to plug these consoles into my Hitachi 42PD5200. What's the best way? Never really bought a decent lead before and I think now's the time. Do either of these consoles have digital output?

    Oh, and any ideas on suppliers as well?
     
  2. peahead

    peahead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,807
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +262
    Hi grand dizzy

    i dont have a gamecube but the best way connect it is with the official nintendo rgb scart lead about £20.now for the xbox you could by the official xbox scart lead which also has a optical output but if you really want to get the best out of your xbox you need to get it chipped and buy the official microsoft component av pack which will let you play the games in ntsc progressive scan. :smashin:
     
  3. t-force

    t-force
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ratings:
    +99
    If you've got a Cube with the digital out socket, the best option for you is to get hold of the Component cable, and then use Freeloader to play Prog Scan compatible NTSC games.
     
  4. Grand Dizzy

    Grand Dizzy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    T-force,

    Are you suggesting I buy all my games from NTSC countries (ie NTSC versions) or just to switch to 60Hz mode on the PAL games? And anyway why is NTSC preferable? Can't you get progressive scan with PAL games?
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    component for all and GC PS is from NTSC games only IIRC but i think you still get interlaced from PAL games....... check console forum for specifics..
     
  6. t-force

    t-force
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ratings:
    +99
    You can only get Prog Scan from NTSC games (not all of them mind, but most of the AAA titles). I started using Freeloader originally to play Animal Crossing, as it didn't come out over here for nearly 2 years after the US, but since I got a TV that does prog scan, I've never bought a PAL game.
     

Share This Page

Loading...