Question Best NAS for streaming 1080p bluray mkv

Simon Belmont

Prominent Member
Reaction score
WD or Synology?

Need at least 4tb. Use for streaming video High Bitrate 1080p video through out the house and some storage also.

Know very little about nas , but been reading up a lot. Also had a good with WD's demo OS of mycloud. It seemed a little easier then Synology's? I'm a beginner at this.

Don't know if WD my cloud would be fast enough for my needs?

Thanks

I cannot comment on the WD but can tell you that I recently moved from a Zyxel ReadyNAS to a Synology, Synology is absolutely fantastic, much faster, streams flawlessly and I also run 4 CCTV cameras from it, great bit of kit and I only got the fairly basic DS215j

Andy

If the choice is Synology or WD then I'd go Synology everytime. I would add QNAP to your short list though.

I have used my Synology NAS for two years now with no problems and it does all that I ask of it. I comes bundled with excellent software as well.
Brian

I have used my Synology NAS for two years now with no problems and it does all that I ask of it. I comes bundled with excellent software as well.
Brian

Youve been using it for 2 years of course it'll be easy to use. you know it very well. I looked into the software and even played with the demo version on Synology web site and it's very confusing? WD My Cloud software was much easier to understand.

I have to say that I found the Synology pretty intuitive, for streaming to my Amazon Fire TV using Kodi I just add source, look under upnp and any shared folders are there.

In all honesty you won't necessarily be using the software on the NAS that often, most if it will be setting it up and then you'll be using whichever device you use to stream from the NAS

In all honesty you won't necessarily be using the software on the NAS that often, most if it will be setting it up and then you'll be using whichever device you use to stream from the NAS