best mains power cord for my amp

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by evans, Jan 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. evans

    evans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
    Looking for a good quality power cord for my Arcam amp. The amp came with a 2 pin and over in my country need 3 pin so my dealer gave me a cheap replacement.

    Any mains power cables worth spending on around the 100 pounds mark or slightly more?

    any input appreciate, was looking at isotek, chord and van hull, I already have a power conditioner so i dont know if it will make any difference

    cheers:smashin:
     
  2. CJROSS

    CJROSS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    5,105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +343
    Anyhting over £5 is a total waste of money evans IMHO. Go and read the "secrets blind test of power cables" in the cable forum. :smashin:
     
  3. cwilson

    cwilson
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    scunthorpe
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't know where you are, but I have found that the only time I have had a repeatable, provable improvement from a power cable was chaning one that did not reach the socket, to one that did.:D

    I have tried a few, finished up using maplin specials, mainly becasue they are well made, and silver, therefore easy to keep apart from computer/kettle leads etc.
     
  4. evans

    evans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
    Thanks for the input guys, going through mostly Uk sites there are many many brands and prices from 3 pounds to thousands yes thousands of pounds for one cable. Also one fuse that goes with the cable can cost up to 60 pounds.!!:thumbsdow are these people mad!
     
  5. Lewisimo

    Lewisimo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    Russ Andrews one's are meant to be good...not sure how much they improve sound (most people on here will tell you they don't) but they sure look sexy! :D
     
  6. Euphonious

    Euphonious
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Leighton Buzzard, UK
    Ratings:
    +9
    The thing is that many of the claims made by the manufacturers of these expensive cables are true. The cables might well be made of exotic materials or have expensive parts in them. The problem is that none of them affect the sound!
     
  7. Mr_Sukebe

    Mr_Sukebe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +214
    Have a chat with a group called Coherent systems and see if they'll let you dem a cable of theirs. Make your own mind up as to whether it makes any difference.
     
  8. evans

    evans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
  9. evans

    evans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
    just visited their site:D Welcome to Coherent Systems | Hi-fi and Audiovisual Specialists

    It was a very fast visit after i saw their prices.:rotfl:
     
  10. Mr_Sukebe

    Mr_Sukebe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +214
    If there kit is a bit of your league at the moment, then frankly I wouldn't bother. Personally I do believe that the CS cables I have made a difference, but that's when used on non-budget level kit. In short, I wouldn't bother until the rest of your kit is at a fairly serious level.
     
  11. evans

    evans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
    Yes good point no use spending this kind of money when its more than my amp!
     
  12. trailer

    trailer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,880
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +231
    I've had good service and good quality cables off AudioFriendly. They're on eBay.
     
  13. Euphonious

    Euphonious
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Leighton Buzzard, UK
    Ratings:
    +9
    £725 for a one metre power cable?! Surely in any given situation, that money would be better spent on improving your source, amplification or speakers than on a supremely expensive cable to take the electricity that's travelled a hundred miles from the power station and convey it one metre to your hi-fi?

    I'm not denying that it's a good-quality cable, but surely a chain is only as strong as its weakest link, which means that spending that kind of money to carry your electricity on 0.00001% of its journey is a bit... superfluous?
     
  14. cwilson

    cwilson
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    scunthorpe
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oi, that's logical thinking, and has little part to play in the turnover plans of the major vendors of hi fi tweakery and foo, so please wash you mouth out with salt and water.
     
  15. Mr_Sukebe

    Mr_Sukebe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +214
    Have to admit that I've not checked their prices recently, and £725 is way more than I paid for the cables that I have.
    As for value, as mentioned it's dependant upon the kit you have. If the next source upgrade might cost say £2k, then £250 on a cable that actually makes a reasonable difference, might seem rather good value.

    Regarding it's effectiveness or not, all I can say is that I bought one post what I felt was a representative demo. Before shooting me down in flames as it being impossible, go have a listen for yourself first.
    Frankly, I'm not impressed with the recent bout of "no that's not possible" comments, typically from people with zero experience of the kit mentioned.
     
  16. evans

    evans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
    I decided its not worth it paying alot on a mains cable although im still out on any benefits to justify price. One thing i did do is change the plug of my amp as it was well worn out and dirty and in bad shape. I noticed the one my dealer gave me was 13A and my arcam is only 450 watts / 230 v = 1.95 amps. So I changed the fuse to 5A and good quality.

    When I plugged it in and played some of my cds i wasnt expecting any improvement however dynamics is way better, theres more clarity and slightly better imaging. The cable is still the same one I just changed the fuse to 5A. They sell hifi fuses but i thought it was all B.S , dont think so now!!

    Furutech Audiophile Mains Fuses - 13 Amp
     
  17. Mr_Sukebe

    Mr_Sukebe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +214
    You sure you weren't smoking something whilst doing the listening comparison?:D:D:D
     
  18. evans

    evans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
    :D wish i was
     
  19. trailer

    trailer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,880
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +231
    It's funny how often unplugging and plugging things back in makes a difference.
     
  20. evans

    evans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
    :eek:seriously there is a difference for the better since im listening to the same cds as yesterday to make sure and its not my imagination but the difference is evident. Isotek use the fuses from the site i mention above in their more expensive mains cables.
     
  21. cwilson

    cwilson
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    scunthorpe
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you mean me, then no I have not heard coherent cable, I would hopefully have more sense than to pay that kind of money for a cable, assuming I had it to start with. I have heard a fair few others, and for a little while did believe they made a difference. That is untill when swapping put a van damme I/C in where I thought I had put XXX$$$ Brand. That made me start to listen with my ears, rather than my eye's. I have also seen the little tweak on the volume button when a cable is swapped.

    Some of us have therefore had experiance with various cables, at various prices, and while not all, a broad enough spectrum to suggest to people that its very very hard to justify, say £500 for a tenners worth a cable and a couple of plugs.

    I await the usual you have cloth ears, your kit is not revealing enough to tell, (it may well be true) type comments, neither of which seems to lessen my enjoyment of music, or my ability to hear the changes made to the sound when swapping subplatters on a my deck, or moving over to a technoweight. Both 'engineered' items that cost considerably less than the average cable.

    The change of sound from the fuse change/plug change probably has more to do with good tight and clean connections than anything else.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2009
  22. 9dennis9

    9dennis9
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Call me naïve but if the mains lead has an effect, shouldn’t we be using captive mains leads instead of IEC plug in type?
    Thus cutting down on the number of contacts; or are we saying it is due to the type of cable used? In which case the shorter must be better, including the ring main or spur.

    The test I use is to play:
    Dit Beausoleil by Michael Doucet.
    If I don’t dance, something is wrong with my system or me.
    d
     
  23. bikemad

    bikemad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East coast Ramsgate
    Ratings:
    +15
    Iv had all maner of copper & pure silver cables in my hifi kit fro Van den hul,The Missing Link,Krystal kables,Coherent (still use his ic's & speaker wire it's superb) several filters & a PS audio P500 what a load of crap that was !! luckly brought them all s/h so didnt loose any £s the main change came when using US plugs better contact etc.

    I had varying results from the different wires but none could do what a dedicated install did.

    Last summer I fitted a separate consumer unit just for my hifi & av kit this is by far a massive leap in performance cost me around £250 all in I installed it myself thus saving on costs,Im using spurs for for each bit of kit.
    the upgrade seems as if Iv spent ££££s on new amps etc.

    BUT DONT CHANGE ANYTHING IF YOUR UNSURE WHAT YOUR DOING OR WORRIED ABOUT THE DANGERS INVOLVED.

    Id never waste money again on filters re-generators they all reduce dynamics soften the overall sound & picture if you dont believe me & live close one day I can easily let you hear it for yourself.

    I do not wish to start a debate upon what works or not best thing is to use is quality plugs & wall sockets MK very good get silver plated ones for better results :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  24. Mark.Yudkin

    Mark.Yudkin
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    10,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Zurich, CH
    Ratings:
    +1,542
    There is usually a rational explanation. Some have been given. Another that is common at this time of the year might be: were you recently suffering from any form of ear, nose or throat infection (e.g. a cold)?
     
  25. Parmenion

    Parmenion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Out there
    Ratings:
    +74
    The best mains cable I have used is one dubbed the 'Umbilical'. Great stuff!

    regards

    Parmenion
     
  26. Clive197

    Clive197
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kingsbury, London
    Ratings:
    +28
    Hi Guys:hiya:

    Please allow me to make a few points. Allowing that nominal mains power of 230 volts @ 50Hz is a given in the UK
    1. Mains electricity itself does not change when you use expensive power cables.
    2. Conditioners work to a greater or lesser degree depending on where you live. Dirty mains is a problem but changes with location i.e. Do you live next to an Industrial area, In the middle of the country or in a city location. (I think you get my point). I would suggest trying the conditioner in your system to see if it has an effect and to what degree before parting with hard earned if possible.
    3. All cables can act as aerials and pick up radio frequencies (RF)

    I have done extensive research and have come to the following conclusions.
    Mains Cables do not have an effect on the music in the way most often thought, they can't. However a good well insulated cable will reject RF which in turn will reduce NOISE going into the equipment and therfor allow you to hear detail THAT WAS ALREADY THERE. So you see expensive wire is not so much the issue but how the wire is covered is.
    I hope this is useful and welcome discussion.

    Regards:)
     
  27. evans

    evans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
    found quite alot of articles from people using better quality fuses in there equipment makes a difference.

    StereoTimes --

    As i said previously i dont believe blowing loads of money on mains cable will do anything however good mains isolators are a must.
     
  28. GYRODEC1

    GYRODEC1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    875
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi guys,

    I recently picked up a Van Den Hul Mainsstream BS Hybrid pwr cable on Ebay for a very good price, and I felt after plugging this into my MF pwr amp it has made immense difference to the sound quality.
    After buying this pwr cable I can actually feel the power and detail of the music like never before.

    I am also interested in changing the 13a fuse which came with the cable. I have heard of silver fuses by HIFI Tuning.com but there just too damn expensive at £24.45 on ebay.

    Any ideas on what silver fuses to buy, and do they really work or is it just a sales gimmick?

    Cheers

    Jazz
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  29. CJROSS

    CJROSS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    5,105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +343
    Evans a fuse is a fuse is a fuse, when you see fuses making a difference in audiophile circles then basically anything is up for grabs, I have even seen reviews in the press about aligning the screws in your plugs. It gets dafter and dafter, but the more people see these wacky claims the more they spread around turning normal everyday electrical items into super charged hillbilly made up technological whizzbangs. :rotfl::rotfl::rotfl:

    Guys I fear you chaps may be succeptable to the "Power of suggestion" I for one was. Take a step back, spend as much as you can on the actual hifi equipment and avoid the snake oil that permeates this industry. Use the leads the items was supplied with, don't faff around with fuses as you are leaving the physical world and entering your own little fairy kingdom.

    Edited to add :

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/inte...467-blind-test-cheap-pricey-power-cables.html
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  30. -Ad-

    -Ad-
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +264
    If you can FEEEEL the power of your amp then clearly the cable is extremely dangerous and faulty. Don't want you frying yourself ;)

    I'm still using my good old kettle leads that came with each piece of equipment and there is no need to change unless I need a longer cable.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...