1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best Graphics card for MCE HTPC?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by sted, Mar 31, 2005.

  1. sted

    sted
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone suggest the best graphics card for an HTPC running Windows Media Center 2005? Will be outputting to a 32" CRT . . .
     
  2. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    If it's only to be used for media output then anything silently cooled will do the job.

    These or these or for AGP these should all be fine.
     
  3. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,890
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +368
    Or.... see the thread below (Gigabyte GF6600GT) fanless, powerful and nvidia pure video post processing.... (allegedly - not got mine yet!)
     
  4. sted

    sted
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers. Yep, only to be used for media output - xbox caters for my gaming needs! So i guess the question now is whether it's worth shelling out for the more expensive Gigabyte card. I'm wondering if i wouldn't notice any picture improvements as i've only got a CRT?
     
  5. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    Not for just video. The only case for spending the extra is if you could need/use dual DVI outputs on the card, then you would have to spend more and get a better card. You could get away with a mainboards onboard graphics but this will eat up some of your main memory so for the cost a separate card is more cost effective. The cards will also be more than adequate for office type apps just make sure system memory is a min of 512.
     
  6. sted

    sted
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, thanks. One more question - will a PCI express card work in a standard PCI slot. The reason i ask is i want to test on my old motherboard before i buy a new one . . .
     
  7. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,890
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +368
    No!
     
  8. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    No, you can get with difficulty a pci video card but dont bother, you may as well go with onboard graphics, PCI-Express is compleatly different to the PCI slot which is device input/output medium. :)
     
  9. sted

    sted
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, thanks. my problem is i don't want to shell out on everything before i can confirm that the picture looks ok on my tv. hmm. just out of interest what are your thoughts on the points above? are you in the 'cheap is fine' camp or 'it's worth the extra money' camp?
     
  10. sted

    sted
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yep, trouble is i don't have any tv out at the moment and want to test what media center looks like on my TV - so i guess i need to find an old PCI card with an s-vhs out . . .
     
  11. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +583

    trouble is an old video card wont be as good as a new video card so you are not solving your problem
     
  12. sted

    sted
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's another one for you all - does a graphics card exist with component out? I only want to connect to the tv component in or scart sockets as the s-vhs socket is at the front. I was ready to buy an s-vhs to scart lead but am now wondering if i can use the component in?
     
  13. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,890
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +368
    Yes many cards have a component dongle that can be added, not sure which ones but definitely the Gigabyte one mentioned in a separate thread.
     

Share This Page

Loading...