1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

best freeview box with component output

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by peahead, Oct 26, 2004.

  1. peahead

    peahead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +261
    hi im after a freeview box with component output are there any out there because would like to get the best picture possible. :eek:
     
  2. Moviebuff

    Moviebuff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,997
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +230
    I think you'll find that such a beast doesn't exist.

    As far as Freeview boxes go,the Sony seems to be very well rated amongst those members on this forum,that have had expierence of them.

    HTH
     
  3. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Only the Netgem IPlayer
     
  4. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    .. and to pre-empt the inevitable "but I looked on the website and it only has a scart socket" post .... the iPlayer outputs component thru it's scart, you'd need an RGB scart to component cable.
     
  5. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    And TBH unless connecting the Freeview box via an AV receiver etc for video switching there is no need to have component outputs. I would think there will be very little, if any difference in PQ between component & RGBs (scart) as unless going through a video processor you are not going to get a progressive scan image from Freeview even via component.

    Mark.
     
  6. hammy2891

    hammy2891
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    very true the netgem does output component through the scart and it makes a massive difference when fed to my pj :laugh: ,not only the pq but the menus look superp well worth the extra premium + you get internet access too :clap:
     
  7. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    This is assuming that the scart input is as capable as the component input on your display device. Which is not always the case.
     
  8. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    True, but there are also cases where S-Video is better than RGB, but on a level playing field this is not the case.

    Mark.
     
  9. Wayne Moule

    Wayne Moule
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    1,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +32
    Broadband at that.

    :)
     
  10. jimbowley

    jimbowley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope you can use eg Scart to 3RCA lead. That's what I'm planning to do.
     
  11. hammy2891

    hammy2891
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    not sure about scart 2 3rca,i'm using scart 2 3rca adapter onto a 3rca 2 hd15 as my pj hasn't got component(3rca) input :thumbsdow
    not only broadband :smoke: but wireless broadband at that :clap:
     
  12. Wayne Moule

    Wayne Moule
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    1,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +32
    :)

    Have you got the latest software from the Forum?
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  14. hammy2891

    hammy2891
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    not as yet don't c the point as it doesn't include the 7 day epg
     
  15. Wayne Moule

    Wayne Moule
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    1,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +32
    There are a lot of bug fixes and Teletext works properly now.

    I use the Radio Times site for a 14 day tv guide for now, which works well.

    It's a beta release at the mo.
     
  16. hammy2891

    hammy2891
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think we've gone off topic here abit, apologies :oops:
    will download when full version is available as no serious bugs,touch wood
     
  17. jimbowley

    jimbowley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hornydragon: here's a more challenging one for you.

    I was being slightly misleading for the sake of simplicity :blush: I will actually be needing SCART to BNC component. I've not found one yet (although I have found scart to VGA which I could use).
     
  18. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    be careful scart to VGA (RGBHV) is a difficult beast..... have you a link? I would a either buy scart to RCA and 3 BNC to RCA adapters or cut the RCA's off and put BNC's on.
     
  19. jimbowley

    jimbowley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    although I meant BNC when I said RCA, I didn't mean RGB when I said component. I meant YUV which I believe the panny Min D-sub takes (?).
     
  20. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    yes it does on PW6 and additional boards for PW/PHD range
     
  21. jimbowley

    jimbowley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I misread the scart to vga at the bottom of http://www.beststuff.co.uk/superior_leads.htm (it is RGB)

    So now I haven't found YUV SCART-BNC or SCART-MiniDsub for my (imagined) DVD player. I'm determined to do it without the RCA/BNC adaptors.

    Do DVD players put out RGB?
     
  22. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    whoa.....hold on there cowboy netgem is a very rare case component via scart....PW6 is rare component by 15 pin D-Sub....
    DVD player will most probably out put RGBS not compatible with RGBHV (VGA) without a Sync seperator. Which is what JS RGB>VGA does
     
  23. jimbowley

    jimbowley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lets take stock. I've bought the pwd6. One plan is:
    DVD player YUV out (3RCA to 3BNC on pwd6)
    FV - Netgem YUV ( scart-Dsub ) or SVID
    or FV Pace Twin YUV? (scart - Dsub) or RGB? (scart-Dsub)

    Does the panasonic use the same pins for YUV and RGB on the D-sub? ie can I use a scart-Dsub lead regardless of whether the Pace is putting out YUV or RGB ?
     
  24. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Pace Twin does RGB sync on composite

    SVid is evil use RGB or Component
     
  25. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    FV component ONLY NET gem to use PAce tein would need an RGB>VGA/Component converter... AS RGB>YUV converter is £150 ish i reconmend the Panny E55 DVD recordr as this will accept RGBS from FV and OUTput YUV from DVD and FV box while DVDR is on...... Allows you to use live pause on DVD-ram etc
     
  26. BIGDAZ

    BIGDAZ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try looking at the Humax DV1000T freeview/DVD player. This has Component and prog. scan. This unit can also be made multi region. The freeview side is fast with great features. I am only using RGB scart at the moment and impressed by the picture and sound quality. Optical out Dolby Dig. and DTS.

    Check Humax website then buy from Dabs.com for £89.99

    I have posted multi region hack on this forum.

    Hope this helps :smashin:
     
  27. Cool Man

    Cool Man
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi HornyDragon, when you recommend the Panny E55 DVD recordr as this will accept RGBS from FV and OUTput YUV from DVD and FV box while DVDR is on..

    can you clarify what cables will goto the plasma ? and what will need to be connected to an AV amp

    many thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...