Best for gaming

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by olly1, Jan 9, 2008.

1. olly1

olly1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi all
    As an avid gamer and fancying an ever larger image what would in your opinions be a really good projector for gaming ie dlp ,lcd,720 ,1080p.I,m a complete novice as far as projectors go.Dont know about budget possibly up to 2 grand please advise.When I first started looking I quite liked the reviews the panasonic pt-ax200 was getting,but reading on here there seems to be a few issues with them.
    Thanks all any feedback will greatly be appreciated.:thumbsup:

2. dalar

dalar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +62
    Hi mate

I don't own the panny but they have a great reputation, any setbacks you read on them shouldn't put you off!

I personally own a Sanyo Z5 - 720p its awesome, you can see screens of gameplay on my setup here.

http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=670505&highlight=Dal's+Setup

I'm really impressed at the image quality on it for the price, £700 at the time, and make no mistake, im not compensating image quality for price here, the PQ is amazingly good... very happy with it.

You say your budget is 2k hey?.... you could go fancy with a true 1080p projectror .... but personally I'd buy a top 720p and spend the rest on a awesome sound setup...

You might struggle to find the Z5 ... but you could look at Sanyo's Z2000...

3. tryingtimes

tryingtimes

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +531
    People generally tend to go with a fairly bright projector for gaming. Also on-chip DLP seems to be favoured because of it's super sharp pixels and high punch in bright scenes. With dlp you have to make sure you aren't sensitive to rainbows. + if you're socially gaming a lot, it might be a risk for guests.

1080p dlp - brighter black levels, some of the 1080p models have inflexible mounting options, great punch. Rainbows.