Best DVD for copying from Betamax

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by hannahr, Nov 1, 2005.

  1. hannahr

    hannahr
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Complete novice here! Looking for some information on copying Betamax video tapes onto DVD. What would be the best DVD recorder to buy and is this a simple process?

    Finally got my Betamax video working again after a few years and want to transfer everything over to DVD before it dies on me again! If it is of any help I have a Sony C40 Betamax Video which is about 20 years old.

    Any advice you can give me would be appreciated. I have a budget of approximately £200.

    Many thanks

    Hannah
     
  2. Nielo TM

    Nielo TM
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    LDN
    Ratings:
    +549
    Panasonic makes the best DVD recorders for around £200.

    I have two of then which you might like

    I know from experience that DVD Recorders/Players won’t last long as VCR's so I bought mine form John Lewis cos of the free 2 year cover, it’s a DMR-ES10.


    Or you can buy it from ebuyer which is DMR-ES20 with freeview
    and multi region for £193.97 inc VAT W/O delivery.

    John Lewis DMR-ES10 £179.00

    Ebuyer DMR-ES20 with freeview and multi region for £193.97

    ok cool :thumbsup:
     
  3. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,833
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,469
    A vote here for Pioneer in preference to Panasonic. Some people have reported problems with Panasonic's after-sales (in the unfortunate case you may need it).
     
  4. Nielo TM

    Nielo TM
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    LDN
    Ratings:
    +549
    wot u mean by problems
     
  5. hannahr

    hannahr
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for your quick responses - I will look at those suggested. Any other tips/info. you have would be great. Have any of you tried copying from Betamax to DVD and is it simple?

    Thanks

    Hannah
     
  6. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,833
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,469
    What do you mean by "wot u mean" ? ;)

    Errr, problems. Difficulties. Non-co-operation. Goods not collected from shops to be fixed. Shortage of spare parts. Problems - you know.

    Only what I've read elsewhere on this forum; not from personal experience.
     
  7. AVmaster

    AVmaster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liecestershire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Panny DVD recorders, like most other manufacturers are repaired by the same companies who sell them (with exeption to those who send them off to other service centres) so it's not always the fault of the manufacturer, it's ofetn the fault of the service centre, which there are hundreds of and may be the same ones used which ever brand you buy in to.

    Going back to the tape copying query though. There is a feature on 2 brands of recorders called a "Time Base Corrector" which actually improves tape to DVD copies unlike the 2nd generation loss that you get with tape to tape copies. Only Panasonic & JVC have this feature and I know which one I'd rather have. ;)
     
  8. TobyW

    TobyW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +3
    I suspect there is little significant difference between dubbing from Betamax and dubbing from VHS, to DVD. So you could probably just look for recommendations for VHS transfers. Either way, you basically have the following requirements:

    1. Good time base correction, to overcome the mechanical timing jitter.

    2. A modicum of noise filtering, to reduce the amount of information that has to be compressed into an mpeg stream.

    3. Good compression performance, so that you can transfer a 3 or 4 hour tape to a DVD without dropping the resolution. (If you drop down to half resolution you will definitely notice the difference, even from an LP video tape recording.)

    My own experience has been that a Panasonic E85 satisfies requirements 1 and 2. Of course, that model is now superseded by newer models that might also meet requirement 3.

    What I particluarly noticed was that the Panasonic E85 time-base corrector coped well with the double dose of timing jitter on my VHS tapes that had been dubbed from Betamax. In contrast, a Toshiba XS32 was defeated by it.

    There's a possible 4th requirement, the ability to set the black level, contrast, saturation, etc. Probably that only applies to people like me, who have dubbed from Betamax to VHS first. When I am being that picky, I use a PC.
     
  9. ad47uk

    ad47uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    750
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    The one problem is connecting the Beta to the recorder.
    Most Betamax videos have got BNC connectors for the video, so a cable with a phono on one side and Bnc on the other is needed. The audio will no doubt need two phonos going to one Phono

    Copying from betamax is the same as from any other source.
    .
     
  10. hannahr

    hannahr
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for the tips. I will look into the models suggested and try to make a decision based on your ideas of what I will need to do the copying.

    ad47uk - thank you for your tips on copying cables. Could you tell me what a "cable with a phono on one side and Bnc on the other" is called and where I may be able to get one from?

    Thanks for all your help

    Hannah
     
  11. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,833
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,469
    It's probably easier to source a BNC > RCA phono adaptor (from www.maplin.co.uk or their stores - code FA11M, GBP2.13 each) and then use a simple phono cable. But do check your VCR actually has got BNC connectors before doing so. Many Betamax do, but check yours.
     
  12. hannahr

    hannahr
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've checked and it does have BNC Connectors so I shall purchase as suggested.

    Thanks for your help.

    Hannah
     
  13. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Time for some advise

    The C40 does have BNC video and phono for linear stereo audio.

    Time base corrector - not required - Betamax regenerates the signal

    As to compare transfering from Vhs - there are a few differences.

    Better colour performance, higher resolution - you need to encode at 720x568 or lose info. whereas with Vhs you can get away with lower resolutions.

    More stable picture I haven't used a TBC and I have transfered over 100 hours.

    Macraprovision is ignored and does not effect Beta so less problems there.

    I'd also suggest going the PC route.
     
  14. hannahr

    hannahr
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your advice Martin, but as I mentioned before I am a complete novice when it comes to copying videos. What exactly is "going down the PC route"? Does this mean I could copy straight from the Betamax video onto DVDs via my computer? If so, how easy is this and what sort of kit would be required.

    Thanks

    Hannah
     
  15. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    24,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,652
    Unless you're very PC savvy don't faff about "going down the PC route"
    It's far easier and quicker using a DVD recorder.
     
  16. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    I use my video camera as a digitiser, Capture into DVD Movie factory then encode with TMPGENC and then burn on Ritek media

    The end results are surprisingly good.

    One lot I did do were copies as well. Tour of Duty series 1

    Recorded on my Super deck, adverts edited out onto the M40.

    Then put on the PC and the discs are surprisingly good quality
     
  17. hannahr

    hannahr
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If a DVD Recorder is simpler I think I'll go down that route. Thanks for all your help.

    Hannah
     
  18. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Have a look at Pioneer models - their PC drives are good and their standalones are quite good

    Also use DVD-R
     

Share This Page

Loading...