Best dirt-cheap Android 'phone?

dogfonos

Would appreciate suggestions for the best £50-ish Android 'phone for my particular useage.

Never had a smartphone before but think I need one now. I have little knowledge of the way these things work so trying to compile a list of required features is hit & miss. Feel free to question my requirements if they seem irrational.

I intend to use the 'phone mainly as a remote control for music and video streaming but also to set up various streaming devices, including Google Chromecast and Chromecast audio (seems that Android 6 OS is minimum for running current Google Home App. I'm sure there may be a few Google apps I may dabble with too. I will rarely make and receive calls or use it for texting. The 'phone will rarely leave home. In fact, I may not have a SIM installed most of the time. As I understand things, I can use the 'phones wifi to connect to the Internet rather than the 'phone system (whatever that might be called). I don't intend to take out a 'phone contract so, I guess, the 'phone needs to be 'unlocked'. The only other use I can think of will be to join a WhatsApp group. After joining WhatApp, can I receive and send WhatsApp messages via Wifi?

Don't need camera or GPS and I won't watch videos or view photos. Thanks.

Timalay

You might struggle to get anything new for under £50. Argos have a few Alcatel phones at £10 - £20 over your budget.

Saldawop

Distinguished Member
Don’t you need a telephone number for WhatsApp?

dogfonos

Don’t you need a telephone number for WhatsApp?

For the initial setup yes.

Installed WhatsApp on a Kindle fire(no SIM) and been using it for months.
That's as I understand it too. So I would use the new 'phone, fitted with SIM, to join WhatsApp then intend to run/use WhatsApp from my PC (from what I read, this is do-able) whilst removing the SIM and using the new 'phone as a remote control. Wouldn't rule out refitting the SIM occasionally, if necessary - I'll see how it goes.