1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best digibox?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by stephen19, Dec 15, 2003.

  1. stephen19

    stephen19
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    Sorry if this is a faq; I did do a search but nothing turned up in the recent posts.

    I am about to sign-up for sky for the first time. I know in the past there was talk that some boxes were better than others, some had different outputs than others, etc. Is this still the case and if so, which box should I get.

    Is it still the case that you only get to choose the box by phoning around local installers and seeing what they use?

    Thanks,
     
  2. wod

    wod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    if you can try and get a panasonic box or pace 2600
     
  3. STOWITBELOW

    STOWITBELOW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +49
    I dont know if you get a choice from Sky. I originaly got a Pace, then after repeated problems, a Panasonic. A look at selling prices on Ebay will indicate desireability of boxes 2nd hand - probably a reflection of performance / reliability. Most boxes seem to offer similar connectivity - apart from Sky +. I do believe some boxes respond quicker than others though. I can only speak for my old Panasonic, which seemed pretty good all round. Having just gone to Sky+ thats a Pace, seems a little slower, but nothing to complain about.
     
  4. stephen19

    stephen19
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. I suppose all that is important to me is RGB out and digital audio out. Do all boxes now do this?
     
  5. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,087
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +662
    No boxes that sky supply will give you a digital audio out. For this you will need sky+.
     

Share This Page

Loading...