Best Connection??

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by micol, Oct 7, 2004.

  1. micol

    micol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In front of my PC
    Ratings:
    +2
    OK. So i've bought my new Hitachi 42DP5200 plasma and I want to get the best picture and sound possible. I also have a Sky+ box (V2) a Yamada 6600 Divx DVD player, and a Denon 3802 Home Cinema Amp.

    Can anyone offer any advice on the best way to connect all this kit together? The Plasma only has 1 Scart which is a slight problem, but it also has some Component inputs and s-video. Sky+ has RGB scart and s-video and my DVD has RGB scart.

    Should I buy a decent (£30-50 budget) Scart / Scart for Sky+ and a Scart / Component to connect my DVD Player to my plasma? What about the Denon Amp? It has tons of connections and I'm a bit confused. :lease:
     
  2. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    what is the full list of connectors from the DVD?
     
  3. BoomBoom

    BoomBoom
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    RGB Scart is fine for your Sky+

    either user Component or DVI if you DVD player has it. If you have or get and Xbox or PS2 connect them via component.

    You amp need to connect to you sky and DVD not the screen. Use digital connection where you can...i.e. optical.

    Boom
     
  4. mray

    mray
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,771
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +234
    If you're using bog standard scart leads, then anything costing over around £15 will give you a big improvement in PQ.

    I got some JVC ribbon scart leads which were about £16-£18 and they made a massive difference.

    Even the Hitachi lead from Argos was decent.

    Component leads imo will give you a pic similar to rgb scart.

    I don't know about these £60 ish leads though, or if they would make that much of a difference compared to spending around £20 ( I've heard they don't).
     
  5. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    Both DVD and Sky+ will need to connect via RGB scart (I'm pretty sure the Yamada doesn't have component). Remember you need to:

    - activate RGB output in both the DVD and Sky setup menus
    - while your in the Sky+ setup menu set TV type to 16:9, Contrast to Low, Scart Control On and video output to RGB (then press save current settings)
    - use a fully wired (decent quality!) scart lead
    - use the TV scart output of the Sky box (VCR scart has no RGB output)
    - either connect the DVD to the VCR scart of the Sky box to "pass-thru" the signal, or use a switcher such as the JS Technology Master Scart Controller (2-1), BTec Triton (3-1) or BTec Quintro+ (5-1).
     
  6. micol

    micol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In front of my PC
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,

    My DVD player has SCART, S-video, coaxial, optical output. I was thinking I could connect to the Plasma by Scart (from DVD) to Component or DVI (on the Plasma)? Is there such a lead?

    I am currently using the Hitachi scart from Argos (sky+ direct to Plasma). My friend says there is a QED scart for around £50 which is supposed to be fantastic? Also are there special scart leads for plasma screens?

    I have the DVD connected to the Amp via Optical but I can't seem to get sound from the amp for Sky+ using the same method?
    I do have a playstation 2 so how do I connect them via component? Is there a special cable I need to buy?
     
  7. Stimpy

    Stimpy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    With the optical from the sky+ try switching the sky+ to dolby stereo rather than Dolbly digital (only the movie channels seem to broadcast in DD).
    However you may have the same problem as me with the sky+ box. Optical doesn't work.
    Does your amp do upconversion to component?
    If yes, you can reduce cable clutter by upconverting everything to component, then only have one cable going to the screen. Makes switching easier as well. I.e. just switch the amp channel.
     
  8. micol

    micol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In front of my PC
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for the advice.

    Liam,
    If I connect my DVD to the VCR scart on Sky+ will I not loose the RGB and will the quality reduce as It's not direct to the Plasma?

    I thought that a RGB Scart with component leads on the other end would be better than a scart switcher as I could then go directly from DVD scart to Plasma Component?

    Stimpy,
    Thanks for the info on Sky+, I'll try what you say. My Amp has loads of stuff on the rear including 3 sets of component points? I have no idea if it upconverts, maybe you can tell from the attached picture?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Leigh_1973

    Leigh_1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    AFAIK that amp upconverts to component
     
  10. micol

    micol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In front of my PC
    Ratings:
    +2
    OK. If it does upconvert, please can someone let me know how to do it and what cables i will need (sorry for my ignorance!)
     
  11. Leigh_1973

    Leigh_1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    Connect Sky+ to your amp using an s-video lead and phono leads for sound
    Connect you DVD player to your amp using a scart to s-video lead and optical lead for sound
    PS2 to amp using an s-video lead, im guessing you can get on of these, ive not got a PS2, not sure on sound, so cant confirm.

    and then connect your amp to your plasma using a component lead.
     
  12. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    Stimpy
    Optical works fine for me, see page 65 of SKY+ manual.
    Depending on broadcast I get stereo, Dolby Prologic or Dolby 5.1 no problem! :thumbsup:
     
  13. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    Hi fellas

    - I don't think the 3802 upconverts, only 3803 and onwards do
    - RGB scart is not the same signal as component. A scart to 3 RCA lead is possible but it will not work
    - running the DVD RGB scart to the Sky box is the simplest method, however there will be minor degredation from passing the signal through the Sky box. The JS MSC is best used here.
    - PS2 requires an aftermarket component lead. This is the best option for PS2 but does not work with DVD playback iirc

    Leigh - even if the amp did upconvert I wouldn't want to downgrade my DVD signal to SVHS just for the sake of one cable to the plasma, direct RGB scart appears best in this instance.
     
  14. micol

    micol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In front of my PC
    Ratings:
    +2
    Cheers for that. I'll give it a try tonight.

    PS. Would it not be better to make use of the plasma's scart and link the Sky+ to it by scart to scart and still use the phono to get the sound through the amp as well?
     
  15. Leigh_1973

    Leigh_1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    Liam : your right i mis-read the model no as 3805 not 3802, my fault


    i forgot that the sky+ box has optical out, so you'd be better off using that :)
     
  16. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    Yes DVD and Scart should both have direct audio connections to the amp. Both should be optical (if you can get yours working!).

    Then DVD runs RGB scart to Sky+, Sky+ runs RGB scart to Plasma.

    Good Luck!
     
  17. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    another option is to buy a New DVD Pioneer 575 would be ideal £130 MR...... Well worth it on a plasma....... so then you could go all through the the amp for video and using a JS RGB> Component converter for sky if required. PS2 can also use component..... Personally i would go for DVD and PS2 through Componenet via amp and Sky+ to plasma scart socket, ok so you need to buy a new DVD but it is well worth the extra......
     
  18. micol

    micol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In front of my PC
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hornydragon,

    Do you know if the Pioneer 575 is a DivX player ?
     
  19. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    Yeah it does!
     
  20. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    i typed that without moving my fingers...............
     
  21. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    :laugh:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice