best component switcher?

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by richard plumb, Oct 20, 2005.

  1. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,555
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,057
    OK, choice in this area seems limited. Keene do the Scancom 4x2 component switcher, which looks good and has the bonus of two outputs. I currently use a scancom svideo switcher and am generally happy with it (although its one to hide away in the cupboard)


    I've also been recommended the Audio Authority 1154A. This has only one output, but the benefit of optical audio switching. While my receiver has enough inputs, doing it this way would let me keep the cables tidy from each source. Anyone in the UK sell this?

    Joytech are doing an update to their switchers which looks nice (AV kit width, silver or black). Has 6 component inputs, 4 optical inputs, 3 ethernet inputs. Only one output.

    Any others to consider?
     
  2. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    The Zektor HDS2 is very good. Switches digital audio too. Almost sold mine a while ago ... glad I didn't now :)
     
  3. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,990
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,598
    Hello richard_plumb (spelling :))

    The Zektor HDS4 and HDS4.2 are one of the few US manufactured switching products available in the UK/EU with CE marking - as AA don't CE mark you have to do a self import on them.

    Both the HDS4 (4:1) and HDS4.2 (4:2) have Five passive analogue channels per input along with a Coaxial and Optical Digital audio channel per Input.

    You can mix and match Coaxial and Optical audio sources as all Digital Audio Inputs are presented on both the Coaxial and Optical Outputs.

    The HDS4.2 has Twin Video/Audio Outputs - its single source only so both Outputs see the same Input.

    The Zektor switchers are a breeze to Integrate with an AV Receiver - you teach them to react to the Input selections you make on your AV Receivers remote (or any remote for that matter).

    The HDS4.2 has an optional RS232 interface.

    See http://www.zektor.com

    Best regards

    Joe

    PS And they are both 1080P compatible!
     
  4. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,555
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,057
    thanks Joe. Looks good. 4.2 is ideal but expensive. Would going for the simpler 4.1 and then running the output through something like the JS component buffer do roughly as good a job?
     
  5. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,990
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,598
    Hello richard_plumb

    Its been done and worked well - though keep in mind Output 02 on the Zektor HDS4.2 includes a line driver so if you have long cables going to a Projector (or a Display in a second room) it'll ensure you don't have signal drop off on your long cables.

    Best regards

    Joe

    PS You have a PM!
     
  6. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,619
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +1,047
    The Zektor HDS4.2 is superb, it completely disappears into your system, once set up you ddon't even know it is there.
     
  7. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,555
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,057
    cheers.

    I must say though the auto switching of the AA-1154a sounds good to me as well. Have skyHD on the lowest input, then I just press the Xbox360 'on' button and it'll switch to it. Switch it off (all doable on the remote) and sky comes back.

    Still, I've lived with button switching for ages now, and its mostly just me that uses it so WAF isn't that important (SkyHD via HDMI, then DVD is always input 1 would work well too).

    Thanks for the help - need some pondering time with some squared paper and a pencil. Gotta love working out how to rewire your setup!
     

Share This Page

Loading...