1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best camcorder for indoor use?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by PeterL, Aug 31, 2004.

1. PeterL

PeterL
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have owned a Sony (Digital 8) TRV120E for about 4 years.

On the whole it does a pretty good job, but one thing it is disappointing at is with indoor conditions under tungsten of flourescent lighting. I am no expert with these things, but I imagine the loss of quality is down to the fact that it handles low light conditions like this by amplifying the signal, producing a lot of digital noise and overall loss of colour. Outside or in good light the colours are bright, digital noise is minimal and the results are generally very acceptable.

I am now being increasingly asked to use my camcorder for videoing live events indoors. Using addtional lighting is not an option, so I was wondering what sort of camcorder specification should I be looking at to work better in these sort of conditions without any trade off in other areas?

Four years on I know that specs have increased and prices have dropped, but is this sort of camcorder available for a budget of under £1000?

Any help or suggestions of models to take a look at would be much appreciated. :smashin:

2. Roy Mallard

Roy Mallard

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Problem with all digital 8 cameras is lack of manual white balance, problem with all sonys is no warning when the gain kicks in.

The only cams that give you such basic & essential information at this end of the market are panasonics, a grand should get you a gs400 (a step above the gs200, it has optical stabiliser, manual audio record level, higher res ccds blah blah blah).