1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

best cable to use for sony vpl-hs2

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by paul1672, Jul 31, 2003.

1. paul1672

paul1672

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +38
    hi there.
    i'm totally new to all this so please be gentle.
    i've recently purchased my first front projector (sony vpl-hs2) after owning a rear projection tv (toshiba 42inch) for a couple of years.
    what i am asking is what would be the best way to connect the projector to my panasonic dmr-hs2 dvd recorder?i have looked around this forum and the general idea i get is that component is best.the only problem is as far as i can see the dvd recorder doesn't have component out.
    is there a way around this at all?
    also,i have heard various people talk about screendoor effect,sorry to sound thick but what exactly is this please?
    sorry for my ignorance and i thank-you in advance for your help.
    paul1672

2. GrahamC

GrahamC

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +67
    Screen door is the effect of the LCD panel showing its grid formation on your picture, just like you can see how a normal TVs pixel make up if you get to close to the screen. This can be reduced or got rid of by you viewing position being far enough away ( 2 times the width of your projected image rec.). A very slight defocus can also help.

Sony I believe has a dedicated lead to send component through the HS2.

3. Bristol Pete

Bristol Pete

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +321
    http://www.shootandshow.com/sony-vpl-hs10.htm

which can be found at

www.nexnix.co.uk

These leads are actually for the HS10 but will work on the HS2. As your DVD does not have component out I would suggest using s-video for now and buy this -

SIC-HS40 PJ Multi to Composite, S-Video, Component Cable £85+VAT