Best cable to bury in a wall

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Mr_Wistles, Mar 22, 2006.

  1. Mr_Wistles

    Mr_Wistles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +3,035
    I have asked the same question in the DIY section but I may get a better answer here.

    I am putting scart cables in my walls and I was wondering what is the best type. I know all about quality cabling, but not quality coupled with flexibility.

    It will be going through several right angles.

    Thanks,

    Russell
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    WHat is going at each end?
     
  3. Mr_Wistles

    Mr_Wistles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +3,035
    Do you mean from what to what? or what type of cable?

    If it is the latter, 2xRGB and 1x HDMI
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Both (or is that all 3) is it a VCR to plasma? or a Sky box to plasma (if so model numbers please) and what else is there? An RGB only scart may be perfect or useless depending
     
  5. Mr_Wistles

    Mr_Wistles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +3,035
    I have a 436-xde in the front room and I have bought a Sharp Aquos for the kitchen diner.

    I want to run a scart from sky plus to a js-technology rgb splitter which will in turn go back into the XDE and the Sharp in the kitchen diner. I want to add another scart and hdmi just in case I ever want to add anything else like a wireless sender so I can watch xvid's.

    There will no be surround sound or anything like that.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    OK you need fully wired scarts (Scarts are a real pain duue to the molded plugs, I would run a scart a 5/7 core coax and HDMI How far is the cable run going to be?
     
  7. Mr_Wistles

    Mr_Wistles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +3,035
    About 3 m's. What cable specifically Mr Dragon?, can you point me in the right direction.
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
  9. Mr_Wistles

    Mr_Wistles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +3,035
    They will have to bend round a chimney brestand then down the wall and along.

    Maybe four turns.
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    but in what plane ie all left and right, or up down and left right left?
     
  11. mo

    mo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london,england
    Ratings:
    +23
    hornydragon,
    as your doing your rounds.
    i was hoping that you could help me.
    i'm looking for that screened mains cable that for example isotek use (2.5mm) by the drum. where can that be bought ?
    so that i can make up some cables with wattgates attached.
    thanks
     
  12. Mr_Wistles

    Mr_Wistles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +3,035
    They will all bend right but then down, left and then out at the other end in the next room.
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    you could got for a flat one then easier to bend in one plane, or round
     

Share This Page

Loading...